Domaine Seailles

Côtes de Gascogne winesArmagnacOrganic wines


Le Domaine Seailles is established in Mouchan, in the Gers. As of tradition in Cotes de Gascony, Armagnac and wines with aromatic signatures typical of the appellation form the heart of its production. With a notorious singularity: that of an entirely organic production.


A booming score

The rise of Domaine Seailles began in the course of the 90s. Acquired at that time by Roger Laberenne, its surface area was limited to 8 hectares dedicated to the production of Armagnac. Over time the vines have expanded and diversified. They now occupy 25 hectares where grape varieties coexist well suited to the vinification of white wines and red wines. If Jean Laberenne has now succeeded his father Roger, he has also associated himself with the skills of Julien franclet which imprints its style on the whole production since 2009. Major works testify to the dynamism of the Domaine Seailles : the almost completed new cellar will soon be completed by the tasting cellar and the new offices.

Vinification guided by the terroir

Au Domaine Seailles, the care of the vines is at the heart of the action. Located on the hillsides, benefiting from a south / southwest exposure, the vineyard certified organic since 2002 is distinguished by its vegetal richness. Between the rows of vines, faba beans, vetches and triticale protect and enrich the soil. They contribute to the fertility of grape varieties which are available in white ugni forArmagnac, Merlot et carbernet for red wines, small and big Mansengs and Sauvignon Blanc and Gris for white wines. Their selection was determined by the quality of the soils of this region of the Ténarèze where clay-limestone substrates and some boulbènes dominate. The structured potential that these soils impart to the grapes led Julien Franclet to favor gentle vinification. Maturing in concrete vats plays a decisive role, even taking over from the barrel to mature certain high-end vintages.

A range with melodic accents

The expression of wines and Armagnacs from Domaine Seailles is quite clear and well structured. For the Armagnac, priority is given to the vintage rather than to the blend. The choice is particularly demonstrative at the tasting. We travel there in an aromatic memory that unfolds from the oldest vintage dating from 1972 to those resulting from organic conversion dating back to 2002. White wines and red wines coexist in three ranges. The collection Kubik, produced outside the appellation, announces a fruity and pleasant style, particularly marked in the 100% Merlot red wine. Then the move upmarket becomes clearer with the cuvée Presto, which roundly seeks the aromatic signatures typical of Cotes de Gascony. We appreciate here the work of the winegrower where punching down and aging in concrete vats perfectly regulates the structured accents induced by the terroir. The demonstration that Gascony can produce excellent organic wines is essential with the cuvée Orpheus. The musical connotation dear to Jean Laberenne finds perfect expression in this wine nicely crafted by a first 12-month aging in barrels followed by a period of improvement for 24 months in concrete vats.

Côtes de Gascogne wines

The Côtes de Gascogne vineyard, typical of the Gers and the “wines of the South-West”, is also inseparable from the land of Armagnac.

French FR English EN

Domaine Séailles


Le Domaine Séailles est établi à Mouchan, dans le Gers. Comme de tradition dans les Côtes de Gascogne, l’Armagnac et les vins aux signatures aromatiques typiques de l’appellation forment le cœur de sa production. Avec une singularité notoire : celle d’une production entièrement bio.


Une partition en plein essor

L’essor du Domaine Séailles a débuté dans le courant des années 90. Acquis à cette époque par Roger Laberenne, sa surface se limitait à 8 hectares dédiés à la production d’Armagnac. Au fil du temps les vignes se sont étendues et diversifiées. Elles occupent aujourd’hui 25 hectares où cohabite une sélection de cépages bien adaptés aux vinifications en blanc et en rouge. Si Jean Laberenne a aujourd’hui succédé à son père Roger, il s’est également associé aux compétences de Julien Franclet qui imprime son style à l’ensemble de la production depuis 2009. De grands travaux témoignent du dynamisme du Domaine Séailles : le nouveau chai quasiment achevé sera bientôt complété par le caveau de dégustation et les nouveaux bureaux.

Une vinification guidée par le terroir

Au Domaine Séailles, le soin de la vigne est au cœur de l’action. Situé en coteaux, bénéficiant d’une exposition en sud / sud-ouest, le vignoble labellisé bio depuis 2002 se distingue par sa richesse végétale. Entre les rangs de vignes, féveroles, vesces et triticale protègent et enrichissent les sols. Elles contribuent à la fertilité des cépages qui se déclinent en Ugni blanc pour l’Armagnac, Merlot et Carbernet pour les rouges, petit et gros Manseng ainsi que Sauvignons blancs et gris pour les blancs. Leur sélection a été déterminée par la qualité des sols de cette région de la Ténarèze où dominent les substrats argilo-calcaires et quelques boulbènes. Le potentiel structuré que ces sols impriment aux raisins ont conduit Julien Franclet à privilégier les vinifications douces. Les élevages en cuves béton jouent un rôle déterminant jusqu’à même relayer le passage en fût pour maturer certaines cuvées haut de gamme.

Une gamme aux accents mélodiques

L’expression des vins et des Armagnacs du Domaine Séailles est assez claire et bien structurée. Pour les Armagnacs, priorité est accordée au millésime plutôt qu’à l’assemblage. Le choix est particulièrement démonstratif à la dégustation. On y voyage dans une mélodie aromatique qui se déploie entre le plus ancien millésime datant de 1972 puis ceux issus de la conversion bio remontant à 2002. Les vins blancs et rouges cohabitent quant à eux en trois gammes. La collection Cubik, produite hors appellation, annonce un style fruité et plaisant, particulièrement marqué dans le rouge 100% Merlot. Puis la montée en gamme se précise avec la cuvée Presto, qui vient chercher avec rondeur les signatures aromatiques typiques des Côtes de Gascogne. On apprécie à cet endroit le travail du vigneron où pigeage et élevage en cuves béton régulent parfaitement les accents structurés induits par le terroir. La démonstration que la Gascogne peut produire d’excellents vins bios s’impose avec la cuvée Orfeo. La connotation musicale chère à Jean Laberenne trouve parfaite expression dans ce vin joliment travaillé par un premier élevage en fût de 12 mois auquel succède un temps de bonification conduit durant 24 mois en cuve béton.

en savoir + Vins des Côtes de Gascogne


Domaine Séailleslocaliser Situer sur la carte
D35
32330 Mouchan

telephone 05 62 28 44 03