The Cave of Gruissan

Wines from CorbièresWines of La Clape


La Cave of Gruissan, ideally placed on both PDOs Corbieres et La Clape, also offers a wide range of wines of qualitative and creative expressions.


A convergence of names

La Cave of Gruissan is a showcase on the outskirts of the historic village whose typical silhouette is dominated by the Barbarossa tower. The cellars and the sales area are established near the pond, on the Corderie Blvd.. The address is well known and very popular. The quality of the wines and the service make it famous. The director, Frederic Vrinat, coordinates a production zone of around 400 hectares which encompasses two appellations: Corbieres et La Clape. This exceptional situation commits for the Cave of Gruissan rational management of vinification and aging. The pragmatic organization of the cellars, judiciously planned by its director, makes it possible to offer a range of wines that is both broad and well-balanced. This reconciles the typicality of Corbières wines, specifics of Crus of La Clape and variety of wines from Aude and Languedoc.

Alta Vinha and the wines of La Clape

La Cave of Gruissan manages 30 hectares of vines on the site of La Clape. Of insular origin, this terroir exalts Mediterranean characteristics to give substance to high quality wines. The cooperative is piloting a participatory project where the call for patronage has made it possible to create the plot Alta Vinha. Located on one of the highest points of the massif, this 10 hectare vineyard flourishes on a soil extremely favorable to the production of a logically named white wine. La Clape. There dominates Bourboulenc, a distinctive grape variety of the appellation, whose discreet citrus and floral aromas combine with the freshness and bouquets of Vermentino. In the same vintage and under the same name La Clape, but in red wine version, we will find at La Cave of Gruissan a first cuvée demonstrating the qualities that the terroir can confer on a Mourvèdre associated with Grenache and Carignan. Then in an expression of longer aging presents the cuvée Grussius, where Syrah, Grenache and Mourvèdre blossom in complexity after aging in oak barrels. Finally, starting from the 2016 and 2017 vintages, the cuvée Alta Vinha has completed the range of La Clape wines under an exceptional label.

video logo The appellation La Clape

by Frédéric Vrinat, director of the Cave of Gruissan

Wines from Corbières and Languedoc

La Cave of Gruissan was historically associated with the appellation Languedoc and more specifically to Corbieres. The vines in production under this PDO represent 150 hectares. This cooperative potential opens up a well-developed range of Corbières wines. Red wines, white wines and rosé wines are on the menu, drawing their nuances from the variety of terroirs and the blending of grape varieties. While entry-level wines meet the demand of a clientele with long-standing Cave of Gruissan, the cooperative regularly evolves towards qualitative creations. Among these we can count the Grand Cru Selection of the Island, or The Pujots, available in three colors, including the reds aged in barrels after carbonic maceration. The cooperative resource allowing an evolutionary flexibility, La Cave de Gruissan also revisits the old grape varieties since 2012 with the cuvées The senses of the Garrigue made from Marselan, Alicante or Carignan. Finally, still in the same range, the year 2017 marks the release of the first organic wine in 100% Syrah.

video logo The Corbières appellation at the Cave de Gruissan

Organic conversion in La Capoulade vineyard

The Pujots

Appellation Corbieres

With The Pujots, the Cave de Gruissan offers a signature Corbieres of good quality control.

Director's word

Director's word

A interview with Frédéric Vrinat, director of the Cave de Gruissan on the site ofAOP Corbieres.

The Cave of Gruissan

Boulevard de la Corderie
11430 Gruissan

phone 04 68 49 01 17

French FR English EN

La Cave de Gruissan


La Cave de Gruissan, idéalement placée sur les deux AOP La Clape et Corbières, offre également une large gamme de vins d’expressions qualitatives et créatives.


Une convergence d’appellations

La Cave de Gruissan tient vitrine aux abords du village historique dont la silhouette typique est dominée par la tour de Barberousse. Les chais et l’espace de vente sont établis à proximité de l’étang, sur le boulevard de la Corderie. L’adresse est bien connue et de très bonne fréquentation. La qualité des vins et du service en font la notoriété. Le directeur, Frédéric Vrinat, y coordonne une zone de production d’environ 400 hectares qui embrassent l’AOP Corbières et l’AOP La Clape. Cette situation d’exception engage pour la Cave de Gruissan une gestion raisonnée des vinifications et des élevages. L’organisation pragmatique des chais, judicieusement planifée par son directeur, permet d’offrir une gamme de vins à la fois large et bien nuancée. Celle-ci concilie typicité des vins des Corbières, spécificités des crus de La Clape et variété des vins de l’Aude et du Languedoc.

Alta Vinha et les vins de La Clape

La Cave de Gruissan gère 30 hectares de vignes sur le site de La Clape. D’origine insulaire, ce terroir exalte les typicités méditerranéennes pour donner corps à des vins de grande qualité. La coopérative y pilote un projet participatif où l’appel au mécénat a permis de créer la parcelle Alta Vinha. Situé sur l’un des points le plus hauts du massif, ce vignoble de 10 hectares s’épanouit sur un sol extrêmement propice à la production d’un blanc logiquement nommé La Clape. Y domine le Bourboulenc, cépage distinctif de l’appellation, dont les discrets arômes d’agrumes et de fleurs font alliance avec la fraîcheur et les bouquets du Vermentino. Dans le même cru et sous le même nom La Clape, mais en rouge, on trouvera à La Cave de Gruissan une première cuvée faisant démonstration des qualités que le terroir peut conférer à un Mourvèdre associé au Grenache et Carignan. Puis dans une expression de plus longue garde se présente la cuvée Grussius, où Syrah, Grenache et Mourvèdre mûrissent en complexité après un élevage en fût de chêne. Enfin, à partir des millésimes 2016 et 2017, la cuvée Alta Vinha viendra compléter la gamme sous une étiquette d’exception.

Vins des Corbières et du Languedoc

La Cave de Gruissan fut historiquement associée à l’appellation Languedoc et plus spécifiquement aux Corbières. Les vignes en production sous cette AOP représentent 150 hectares. Ce potentiel coopératif ouvre sur une gamme de vins des Corbières bien déployée. Rouges, blancs et rosés sont au rendez-vous, tirant leurs nuances de la variété des terroirs et des jeux d’assemblage entre cépages. Si les vins d’entrée de gamme répondent à la demande d’une clientèle ayant de longue date ses habitudes à la Cave de Gruissan, la coopérative évolue régulièrement vers des créations qualitatives. Parmi celles-ci on pourra compter le Grand Cru Sélection de l’Île, ou encore Les Pujots, déclinés en trois couleurs dont les rouges élevés en barrique. La ressource coopérative autorisant une souplesse évolutive, La Cave de Gruissan revisite également les anciens cépages depuis 2012 avec les cuvées Les Sens de la Garrigue élaborées à partir de Marselan, Alicante ou Carignan. Enfin, toujours dans la même gamme, l’année 2017 marque la sortie du premier vin bio en 100 % Syrah.

https://www.cavedegruissan.fr/


La Cave de Gruissanlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Boulevard de la Corderie
11430 Gruissan

telephone 04 68 49 01 17