Brian Devaux, Sommelier

Chateau Clément Termes
Château Clément Termes - Vins de Gaillac

After having occupied the position of head sommelier in a beautiful establishment in Occitania, Brian Devaux currently officiates in Lorraine with the starred restaurant Toya. Professional and passionate, he won the title of “Sommelier” of the Grand Est at the end of the Gault & Millau Tour 2018.


Un geek du vin

Brian Devaux has a passion for wine. Trained at the Lycée Hôtelier Jean Monnet in Libourne, then at the Lycée d'hôtellerie et de tourisme de Gascogne in Talence, he took his first classes in the heart of the Bordeaux vineyards. Met as head sommelier at theHotel Restaurant Castet located in Martres-Tolosane, he now exercises his talents in the Lorraine region with the starred restaurant Toya, in Faulquemont. His outlook on the profession is both learned and offbeat: rather than endorsing the strict title of sommelier, he defines himself with the originality of his generation as a wine geek. This subtlety of language establishes an attitude for him: rather than highlighting the in-depth knowledge of sommellerie, he approaches his profession as a generous act of sharing. For Brian Devaux, wine must above all be unifying and accessible, in terms of both cost and quality.

Typical wines and typical wines

Brian Devaux's discourse on viticulture is of great maturity and just spontaneity, similar to the estates and chateaux he loves. Because wine is first and foremost a product of the earth transformed by man. This means that the terroir is always first in the art of winemaking, and that the value of a wine depends first of all on the respect accorded to the work of nature. All this testifies to a spirit of the times in which we see dawning in the work of the vineyard a return to the typicity of the terroirs which involves the restoration of local grape varieties. To the typical wines, referring by convention to classic grand crus, Brian Devaux opposes the typical wine, that is to say the identity wine which is distinguished by the signature of the terroir and the generations of winegrowers who have preserved its authenticity. Because the stake is capital: not only is it a commitment for a greater respect for the land, but it is also the motivation to restore ancestral wine cultures.

Brian Devaux's “favorite” selection

Generous in his approach, concerned with the greatest possible sharing, Brian Devaux's advice turns to wines from Occitania that we could say of initiation, suitable to support the emotion of the present moment.

Gaillac

Chateau Clément Termes
A domain that has the know-how of seven generations, the typicity of the blends of which is determined by their alliance with ancestral grape varieties including Mauzac or pruneart.
learn more Chateau Clément Termes

Domaine Plageoles
With Bernard Plageolles we open the bible of the Gaillac vineyard. The wine that rises there in the oak barrels of the Grésigne forest is a hymn to the local terroir. To remember in particular the Mauzac Nature, resulting from the ancestral “Gaillacoise” vinification. Or the Prunelart aged in traditional vatting, seeded with indigenous yeasts, organically grown at the source.
learn more Domaine Plageoles
arabesque vine

Cotes de Gascony

Lagajan Estate
Chosen for its reds, matured to the stage of complex and dynamic wines on the palate, expressing all the generosity of the southwest.
learn more Lagajan Estate

UBY domain
The sommelier recommends One Petit Manseng, compatible with the spirit of an aperitif wine, conducive to whetting the appetite.
Delicate profile, ample and fresh on the palate, with an aromatic expression of exotic fruits ...

Domain of Pellehaut
The reputation of Pellehaut is well established for white wines. So our favorite will be the Harmonie Rosé, a blend of Tannat, Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Malbec. A wine rich in minerality and fruity intensities from which emerge nuances of raspberry or red fruits.

arabesque vine

Cahors

Chateau Haut-Monplaisir
A vinification concentrated on a 100% Malbec, expressing the virtues of the sunshine of the Cahors estates. To be allowed to age so that its intense and vintage accents are expressed.

Clos Triguedina
An estate that bears the mark of several generations of winegrowers, of which Jean-Luc Baldès is the current heir. An authentic vinification, which explores in depth the resources of the vine. Superb wines served by sincere authenticity.

French FR English EN

Brian Devaux, sommelier

Château Clément Termes
Château Clément Termes – Vins de Gaillac

Après avoir occupé la place de chef sommelier dans un bel établissement d’Occitanie, Brian Devaux officie actuellement en Lorraine auprès du restaurant étoilé Toya. Professionnel et passionné, il y a conquis le titre de « Sommelier » du Grand Est à l’issue du Gault&Millau Tour 2018.


Un geek du vin

Brian Devaux a la passion du vin. Formé au lycée Hôtelier Jean Monnet de Libourne, puis au Lycée d’hôtellerie et de tourisme de Gascogne à Talence, ses premières classes il les a faites au cœur du vignoble bordelais. Rencontré comme chef sommelier à l’Hôtel Restaurant Castet situé à Martres-Tolosane, il exerce aujourd’hui ses talents sous les horizons lorrains auprès du restaurant étoilé Toya, à Faulquemont. Son regard sur le métier est à la fois savant et décalé : plutôt qu’endosser le titre strict de sommelier, il se définit avec l’originalité de sa génération comme un geek du vin. Cette subtilité de langage établit pour lui une attitude : plutôt que mettre en avant le savoir pointu de la sommellerie, il aborde son métier comme un acte généreux de partage. Pour Brian Devaux le vin doit être avant tout fédérateur et accessible, en termes de coût comme de qualité.

Vins typés et vins typiques

Le discours de Brian Devaux sur la viticulture est d’une belle maturité et d’une juste spontanéité, analogues aux domaines et châteaux qu’il affectionne. Car le vin est d’abord pour lui un produit de la terre transformé par l’homme. C’est dire que le terroir est toujours premier dans l’art de la vinification, et que la valeur d’un vin relève d’abord du respect accordé à l’œuvre de la nature. Tout ceci témoigne d’un esprit du temps où l’on voit poindre dans le travail de la vigne un retour à la typicité des terroirs qui passe par la restauration des cépages locaux. Aux vins typés, se référant par convention classique aux grands crus, Brian Devaux oppose le vin typique, c’est-à-dire le vin identitaire qui se distingue par la signature du terroir et des générations de vignerons qui en ont préservé l’authenticité. Car l’enjeu est capital : non seulement il est un engagement pour un plus grand respect de la terre, mais il est aussi la motivation à restaurer les cultures viticoles ancestrales.

La sélection « coup de cœur » de Brian Devaux

Généreux dans son approche, soucieux du plus grand partage possible, les conseils de Brian Devaux se tournent vers des vins d’Occitanie que l’on pourrait dire d’initiation, propres à soutenir l’émotion de l’instant présent.

Gaillac

Château Clément Termes
Un domaine détenteur du savoir-faire de sept générations, dont la typicité des assemblages est déterminée par leur alliance à des cépages ancestraux dont le Mauzac ou le Prunelart.
en savoir + Château Clément Termes

Domaine Plageoles
Avec Bernard Plageolles on ouvre la bible du vignoble gaillacois. Le vin qui s’y élève dans les tonneaux de chêne de la forêt de Grésigne est un hymne au terroir local. À retenir plus particulièrement le Mauzac Nature, issu de l’ancestrale vinification « gaillacoise ». Ou encore le Prunelart élevé en cuvaison traditionnelle ensemencée de levures indigènes, culture bio à la source.
en savoir + Domaine Plageoles
vigne arabesque

Côtes de Gascogne

Domaine de Lagajan
Choisi pour ses rouges, élevés au stade de vins complexes et dynamiques en bouche, exprimant toute la générosité du sud-ouest.
en savoir + Domaine de Lagajan

Domaine UBY
Le sommelier conseille le One Petit Manseng, compatible avec l’esprit d’un vin d’apéritif, propice à la mise en appétit.
Profil délicat, bouche ample et fraîcheur, avec une expression aromatique de fruits exotiques…

Domaine de Pellehaut
La réputation du Pellehaut n’est plus à faire concernant les vins blancs. Alors le coup de cœur portera sur le Harmonie Rosé, assemblage de Tannat, Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon et Malbec. Un vin riche de sa minéralité et de ses intensités fruitées d’où se dégagent des nuances de framboise ou de fruits rouges.

vigne arabesque

Cahors

Château Haut-Monplaisir
Une vinification concentrée sur un Malbec à 100%, exprimant les vertus de l’ensoleillement des domaines du Cahors. À laisser vieillir pour que s’expriment ses accents intenses et vintage.

Clos Triguedina
Un domaine qui porte la marque de plusieurs générations de vignerons dont Jean-Luc Baldès est l’actuel héritier. Une vinification authentique, qui explore en profondeur les ressources de la vigne. Des vins superbes servis par une sincère authenticité.

French FR English EN