Tannat and Madiran wines

Madiran wines

Madiran winesMade from the Tannat grape, Madiran has long been considered a rustic wine intended to improve Bordeaux. It was under the inspired influence of its first ambassador, Alain Brumont, that it won its letters of nobility. Today, Madiran wine is to be considered as one of the jewels of Occitanie wines.


A Pyrenean grape variety

It is at the foot of the Pyrenees, on the land of the Adour basin, that the Tannat has found its favorite soils. Fruiting in tight clusters whose bluish black announces deep wines, it is the emblem of Madiran wines. Well adapted to the climate and geology of the southwest, it also irrigates the production of other regional red wines. It is found in the vineyards of Irrouleguy in the Basque country, in those of Tursan attached to the Landes or on the Coasts of Saint-Mont bordering the Adour. Its name it derives from the Occitan language in which the tannat name what seems tanned, an expression probably coming from the brown reflections of its foliage. And of tannat there is only one step in tannin, the astringent character being one of the strong characteristics of the grape variety.

The emblem of Madiran

Probably born from a cross with indigenous Pyrenean grape varieties, the Tannat is from the cotoid family, well established in the vineyards of southwestern Occitania. These have the particularity of appearing as flagship grape varieties that qualify a terroir: the Négrette for the wines of Fronton, the Duras for Gaillac wines or Malbec for Cahors wines. In Madiran, Tannat reigns supreme. Well adapted to the oceanic influences of sometimes sustained rainfall, it finds in the Adour basin autumn conditions conducive to optimal ripening. And when maturity comes, this grape produces wines with expressive fruit, deep red, rich in anthocyanins and very characterized by tannic potential.

A complex wine

To push it to its optimal expression, aging for at least one year is required for Madiran wines. They thus conquer attractive curves commonly optimized by assemblies. This is how the marriage with Cabernet sauvignon will temper the tannins or the alliance with Servadou Fer will accentuate its fruit. Aging in oak barrels is common and traditional practice. The Madiran wine firstly, the dominant expression of small red fruits is increasingly explored by the young generation of winegrowers. However, it captures fascinating complexities as soon as it frequents the wood of barrels or tuns. The concert of tobacco, cinnamon, coffee and chocolate, and exotic wood aromas is expressed. Among the wines of the southwest, the Madiran is to be considered today as the flagship of this Occitan terroir.

arabesque vine

Madiran wines on display

Between new generation and great classics.

Chateau Bouscassé

Château Bouscassé and Château Montus

Before becoming the names of great estates, Château Bouscassé and Château Montus are the work of a single man: Alain Brumont ...
Read more…
Château du Pouey - Wines of Madiran

Pouey Castle

In Viella, in the Madiran vineyard, the Château du Pouey enjoys one of the most favorable terroir. Bastien Lannusse, young ...
Read more…

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

French FR English EN

Le Tannat et les vins de Madiran

Vins de Madiran

Vins de MadiranIssu du cépage Tannat, le Madiran a longtemps été considéré comme un vin rustique destiné à améliorer les Bordeaux. C’est sous l’influence inspirée de son premier ambassadeur, Alain Brumont, qu’il a conquis ses lettres de noblesse. Aujourd’hui, le vin de Madiran est à considérer comme un des fleurons des vins d’Occitanie.


Un cépage pyrénéen

C’est au pied des Pyrénées, sur le terroir du bassin de l’Adour, que le Tannat a trouvé ses sols de prédilection. Fructifiant en grappes serrées dont le noir bleuté annonce des vins profonds, il est l’emblème de vins de Madiran. Bien adapté au climat et à la géologie du sud-ouest, il irrigue également la production d’autres vins rouges régionaux. On le retrouve dans les vignobles d’Irrouleguy au pays basque, dans ceux du Tursan rattachés aux Landes ou bien sur les Cotes de Saint Mont bordant l’Adour. Son nom il le tire de la langue occitane dans laquelle le tannat nomme ce qui semble tanné, expression probablement venue des reflets bruns de son feuillage. Et de tannat à tanin il n’y a qu’un pas, le caractère astringent étant l’une des fortes caractéristiques du cépage.

L’emblème du Madiran

Probablement né d’un croisement avec des cépages pyrénéens indigènes, le Tannat est de la famille des cotoïdes, bien implantés sur les vignobles du sud-ouest de l’Occitanie. Ceux-ci ont cette particularité d’apparaître comme des cépages phares venant qualifier un terroir : la Négrette à Fronton, le Duras à Gaillac ou le Malbec à Cahors. En Madiran, c’est le Tannat qui règne. Bien adapté aux influences océaniques de pluviosité parfois soutenue, il trouve dans le bassin de l’Adour des conditions automnales propices à des maturations optimales. Et la maturité venue, ce raisin produit des vins au fruit expressif, d’un rouge profond, riches en anthocyanes et très caractérisés par le potentiel tannique.

Un vin complexe

Pour le pousser à son expression optimale, l’élevage d’au moins une année est de rigueur dans le Madiran. Il conquiert ainsi de séduisantes rondeurs couramment optimisées par des assemblages. C’est ainsi que le mariage avec le Cabernet sauvignon viendra tempérer les tanins ou que l’alliance avec le Fer servadou accentuera son fruit. Le vieillissement en fût de chêne est de pratique courante et traditionnelle. Le vin de Madiran offre en première expression une dominante de petits fruits rouges de plus en plus explorée par la jeune génération de vignerons. Cependant il capte de passionnantes complexités dès lors qu’il fréquente le bois des barriques. S’exprime alors le concert des arômes de tabac, de cannelle, de café et chocolat, de bois exotique. Parmi les vins du sud-ouest, le Madiran est à considérer aujourd’hui comme le fleuron de ce terroir d’Occitanie.

vigne arabesque

Vins de Madiran en vitrine

Entre nouvelle génération et grands classiques.

Château du Pouey - Vins de Madiran

Château du Pouey

À Viella, sur le vignoble de Madiran, le Château du Pouey jouit d’un terroir des plus favorables. Bastien Lannusse, jeune ...
Lire La Suite…
Château Bouscassé

Château Bouscassé et Château Montus

Avant d’être les noms de grands domaines, Château Bouscassé et Château Montus sont l’œuvre d’un seul homme : Alain Brumont ...
Lire La Suite…