Pierre Colin and Paul-Louis Coudoumié, sommeliers


How do the wines of Occitania look at two sommeliers officiating for two starred houses? When we interview Pierre Colin working at Michel Sarran and Paul-Louis Coudoumié who worked at the Merville table then the Sept a few answers shed some light.


Qualitative objectivity

If the winegrowers are necessarily anchored to a terroir and by geographical reason to an appellation, the sommelier approaches the subject rather through the nature of the wine. The spirit that asserts itself in the foreground could be translated into a question: what type of wine is each terroir able to magnify? The answer quickly shakes up a priori and tradition when Pierre Colin argues that " Roussillon is a great land of whites ". Because what the sommelier is going to seek is fundamentally based on qualitative objectivity: balance, substance, freshness. This immediately establishes the terroir of the Occitanie region as a place of exploratory quest where research focuses on the exceptional character of a domain or a winegrower rather than on the reputation of an appellation.

Creative postage

The wines of Occitanie have the particularity of being multiple in several ways: by the diversity of terroirs, climates, grape varieties, know-how. In addition, the creative freedom of winegrowers very often rests on the production of cuvées freed from the constraints imposed by the specifications of an appellation. We will not be surprised then that Occitanie wines be approached by the sommeliers of the great houses without focusing on the PDO or IGP. The trail of investigations in search of the exception then emerges more precisely. It is oriented towards these Occitan winegrowers who are much more committed to experience and research, than to strict compliance with standards establishing the tradition of a terroir. The virtuous approach, respectful of the environment is at the forefront. Not by simple ecological ethics, but also by the qualitative truth that it confers on the wine and the sincere expression of its land.

An anthology of small estates

The points of view that Pierre Colin and Paul-Louis Coudoumié bring to the wines of Occitanie appear to be convergent. When they cite their references, one thing is obvious: they are mostly small farms where the vines are cultivated with care and the wine aged with precision. Often labeled organic or biodynamic, these wine estates are generally run by creative winegrowers and strongly committed to environmental respect. The wine-growing regions mentioned are preferably oriented to the south-east. We find there the terroirs of Terraces of Larzac, Faugères, Saint-Chinian. Roussillon also of course, the land of predilection for small plots with strong characteristics. When the gaze turns to the southwest, the names of Cahors, Fronton ou Gaillac detach. The qualitative choice is still made here on virtuous wine-growing approaches, often accompanied by a sincere, expressive, balanced wine production, always worked as close as possible to the qualities evocative of the terroirs and their favorite grape varieties.

arabesque vine

Some estates and their terroirs cited by Pierre Colin and Paul-Louis Coudoumié

  • Causse Marines, Gaillac (view article)
  • Chateau Plaisance, Fronton (view article)
  • Binet-Jacquet, Faugeres
  • Domaine Vaïsse, Larzac terraces
  • Domaine Gauby, Roussillon
  • Marjorie and Stéphane Gallet, Roussillon
  • Château la Colombiere, Fronton
  • Chateau la Grézette, Cahors
  • Jérémie Illouz, Côtes du Lot
  • Labranche Lafont, Madiran

Some links relating to Pierre Colin and Paul-Louis Coudoumié

  • In an extra-regional approach, Pierre Colin's favorite cuvées on Cuvées and Co.
  • Paul-Louis Coudoumié's Instagram profile, titled The White Vine, dedicated to the tasting of exceptional vintages.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

French FR English EN

Pierre Colin et Paul-Louis Coudoumié, sommeliers


Quel regard portent sur le vins d’Occitanie deux sommeliers officiant pour deux maisons étoilées ? Lorsque l’on interroge de concert Pierre Colin œuvrant chez Michel Sarran et Paul-Louis Coudoumié exerçant à la Table des Merville, quelques réponses font éclairage.


L’objectivité qualitative

Si les vignerons sont nécessairement ancrés à un terroir et par la raison géographique à une appellation, le sommelier aborde plutôt le sujet par la nature du vin. L’esprit qui s’affirme au premier plan pourrait se traduire en une question : quel type de vin chaque terroir est-il en mesure de magnifier ? La réponse bouscule rapidement a priori et tradition lorsque Pierre Colin avance que « le Roussillon est un grand terroir de blancs ». Car ce que le sommelier va rechercher repose fondamentalement sur l’objectivité qualitative : l’équilibre, la matière, la fraîcheur. Cela pose aussitôt le terroir de la région Occitanie comme un lieu de quête exploratoire où la recherche porte sur le caractère d’exception d’un domaine ou d’un vigneron plutôt que sur la réputation d’une appellation.

L’affranchissement créatif

Les vins d’Occitanie ont cette particularité d’être multiples à plusieurs titres : par la diversité des terroirs, des climats, des cépages, des savoir-faire. De plus, la liberté créative des vignerons repose bien souvent sur la production de cuvées libérées des contraintes imposées par le cahier des charges d’une appellation. On ne s’étonnera pas alors que les vins d’Occitanie soient abordés par les sommeliers des grandes maisons sans focalisation sur l’AOP ou l’IGP. La piste des investigations en quête de l’exception se dessine alors plus précisément. Elle s’oriente vers ces vignerons d’Occitanie bien plus engagés dans l’expérience et la recherche, que dans le respect strict de normes fixant la tradition d’un terroir. La démarche vertueuse, respectueuse de l’environnement y tient le premier plan. Non pas par simple éthique écologique, mais également par la vérité qualitative qu’elle confère au vin et à l’expression sincère de sa terre.

Un florilège de petits domaines

Les points de vue que Pierre Colin et Paul-Louis Coudoumié portent sur les vins d’Occitanie se révèlent convergents. Lorsqu’ils citent leurs références, une évidence s’impose : ce sont en majorité de petites exploitations où la vigne est cultivée avec soin et le vin élevé avec précision. Souvent labellisés bio ou biodynamique, ces domaines viticoles sont généralement conduits par des vignerons créatifs et fortement engagés dans le respect environnemental. Les régions viticoles citées sont préférentiellement orientées au sud-est. On y retrouve les terroirs des Terrasses du Larzac, de Faugères, de Saint Chinian. Le Roussillon également bien-sûr, terre de prédilection pour de petites parcelles à fortes typicités. Lorsque le regard se tourne vers le sud-ouest, les noms de Cahors, Fronton ou Gaillac se détachent. Le choix qualitatif se porte encore ici sur les démarches viticoles vertueuses, souvent assorties d’une production de vin sincères, expressifs, équilibrés, toujours travaillés au plus près des qualités évocatrices des terroirs et de leurs cépages de prédilection.

vigne arabesque

Quelques domaines et leurs terroirs cités par Pierre Colin et Paul-Louis Coudoumié

  • Binet-Jacquet, Faugères
  • Domaine Vaïsse, Terrasses du Larzac
  • Domaine Gauby, Roussillon
  • Marjorie et Stéphane Gallet, Roussillon
  • Château la Colombière, Fronton
  • Château Plaisance, Fronton (voir l’article)
  • Château la Grézette, Cahors
  • Jérémie Illouz, Côtes du Lot
  • Causse Marines, Gaillac (voir l’article)
  • Labranche Lafont, Madiran

Quelques liens relatifs à Pierre Colin et Paul-Louis Coudoumié

  • Dans une approche extra-régionale, les cuvées coup de cœur de Pierre Colin sur Cuvées and Co.
  • Le profil Instagram de Paul-Louis Coudoumié, intitulé La Vigne Blanche, dédié à la dégustation de cuvées d’exception.