Domaine Causse Marines

Gaillac winesorganic and biodynamic Forbidden to badgers


Patrice Lescarret was born in Bordeaux, grew up in Bordeaux and still sets sail in Bordeaux. But talking to him about Bordeaux is in vain. He doesn't care about the label: let's talk about wine instead. Because at Causse Marines we are not only a winegrower: we first make wine, Gaillac wine.


Organic okay, biodynamic first

It was in 1993 that Patrice Lescarret settled on the Causse Marines. The estate stretches out at the top of the hill: a row of vines spread over twelve hectares, not trellised, almost wild. Vines that dance on a thin, limestone soil. Vines that grow, under the sky, under the sun, under the moon. Vines that live, as they have always lived: to the rhythm of the days, to the rhythm of the seasons, to the rhythm of the wind and the rain, to the rhythm of the planets and the tides. Viticulture at Causse Marines is biodynamic, strictly biodynamic. She respects the vines, she takes care of the soil, she cuts the work of the winegrower according to the requirements of the plant and the cosmic calendar. Of all this, the grape is the fruit.

Wine without upside down

To produce wine, everything had to be turned over. Not only the land, but also the way of thinking about wine, of naming the wine. It was necessary to plow broadly, to break the established order of words and names. Just to make wine worthy of the table. With Mauzac we made Zacmau, with Duras we produced Rasdu. We understand that the standard is not law here. The only law in Causse Marines is that of the vine and the wine. In a world where chemistry is not working well, it is a question of overturning the order of the world as the established order of words. From this reversal was born wine, or rather resuscitated wine. Because he slept there, in the old vines restored by mass selection. It just lacked the gesture, patience and intelligence of the winegrower to awaken the taste of wine. Root after leaf, leaf after flower, flower after fruit.

Ecce Terra, and so on

Au Causse Marines, in the cellar, the wine rises almost alone, with the fruitful alliance of indigenous yeasts. We watch over the tanks as in a maternity ward, we watch over the incubators. We respect the wine, we don't rush it. We listen to the song of the vines, that of Ondenc, of Petit Manseng, and of all the grape brothers and sisters who sing in the vats. We don't stick, we don't necessarily filter, we don't chaptalize. We listen to the wine. And at the end of the day we get the fruit of the metamorphosis: the Syrah cuvée mutates into 7 Mouse, while the one who flowed the bubble awakens to the fate of Stiff Bubbles. And if you haven't understood anything about this wine story, it's because you can't read labels: the Causse Marines badgers are prohibited. Does that shock you? too bad for you ! With Patrice Lescarret, it is Always breaks, no frills and just wine like Presqu'ambulles. For the rest : mystery...

learn more The wines of Gaillac

wine glass Causse Marines wines can be tasted at Restaurant Vine in Crowd, in Gaillac

French FR English EN

Domaine Causse Marines

Vins de Gaillacbio et biodynamique Interdit aux blaireaux


Patrice Lescarret est né à Bordeaux, a grandi à Bordeaux et met encore les voiles à Bordeaux. Mais lui parler du Bordeaux c’est en vain. Il se fiche de l’étiquette : parlons plutôt du vin. Car au Causse Marines on n’est pas seulement vigneron : on fait d’abord du vin, du vin de Gaillac.


Bio d’accord, biodynamique d’abord

C’est en 1993 que Patrice Lescarret s’est installé sur le Causse Marines. Le domaine s’étend en sommet de colline : une enfilade de vignes déployées sur douze hectares, non palissées, presque sauvages. Des vignes qui dansent sur une terre maigre, calcaire. Des vignes qui poussent, sous le ciel, sous le soleil, sous la lune. Des vignes qui vivent, comme elles ont toujours vécu : au rythme des jours, au rythme des saisons, au rythme du vent et de la pluie, au rythme des planètes et des marées. La viticulture au Causse Marines est biodynamique, strictement biodynamique. Elle respecte la vigne, elle prend soin des sols, elle découpe le travail du vigneron selon les exigences de la plante et du calendrier cosmique. De toute cela, le raisin est le fruit.

Le vin sans dessus dessous

Pour produire du vin il a fallu tout retourner. Non seulement la terre, mais aussi la manière de penser le vin, de nommer le vin. Il a fallu labourer large, casser l’ordre établi des mots et des appellations. Juste pour faire du vin digne de la table. Avec du Mauzac on a fait du Zacmau, avec le Duras on a produit du Rasdu. On comprend que la norme n’est pas loi ici. La seule loi du Causse Marines est celle de la vigne et du vin. Dans un monde où la chimie ne tourne pas rond, il s’est agi de renverser l’ordre du monde comme l’ordre établi des mots. De ce renversement est né le vin, ou plutôt a ressuscité le vin. Car il dormait là, dans les vignes anciennes ravivées par sélection massale. Il manquait juste le geste, la patience et l’intelligence du vigneron pour réveiller le goût du vin. Racine après feuille, feuille après fleur, fleur après fruit.

Ecce Terra, et cætera

Au Causse Marines, dans le chai, le vin s’élève presque seul, avec l’alliance féconde des levures indigènes. On veille sur les cuves comme en maternité on veille sur les couveuses. On respecte le vin, on ne le bouscule pas. On écoute le chant des vignes, celui de l’Ondenc, du petit Manseng, et de tous les frères et sœurs de cépage qui chantent dans les cuves. On ne colle pas, on ne filtre pas forcément, on ne chaptalise pas. On écoute le vin. Et au bout du compte on tire le fruit de la métamorphose : la cuvée de Syrah mute en 7 Souris, tandis que celui qui coulait la bulle s’éveille au destin des Raides Bulles. Et si vous n’avez rien compris à cette histoire de vin, c’est que vous ne savez pas lire les étiquettes : le Causse Marines est interdit aux blaireaux. Ça vous choque ? tant pis pour vous ! Avec Patrice Lescarret, c’est Causse toujours, sans chichis et juste le vin comme Présqu’ambulles. Pour le reste : Mysterre

en savoir + Les vins de Gaillac


Domaine Causse Marineslocaliser Situer sur la carte
Patrice Lescarret et Virginie Maignien
Le Causse
81140 VIEUX

telephone 05 63 33 98 30


wine glass Les vins du Causse Marines se dégustent au Restaurant Vigne en Foule, à Gaillac