Rikard Hult, the Epicurean in Albi


By associating its cuisine with an exclusively organic, biodynamic or natural wine list, Rikard Hult attests to a gastronomic coherence: one that focuses on the work of natural products preserved in their full expression.


Between gastronomy and philosophy

Few of the chefs give wine the same attention as their cooking. At the heart of Gaillac vineyard, Rikard Hult is one of them. At the head of the restaurant The Epicurean in Albi for fourteen years, he shares with Guillaume Roubet his sommelier the same standards and the same philosophy. For a cuvée to appear on the wine list, it must meet a list of criteria: no chemical inputs, manual harvesting, vinification using indigenous yeasts, sulphites reduced to a minimum. Therefore, the cellar found at The Epicurean will not be like any other. Favoring local circuits, focusing its choices on creative and committed winegrowers, gastronomy in these places also stands out as a philosophy of sustainable development and humanist sharing.

Food and wine in expressive pairings

What comes down to the choice of wines stems primarily from culinary determination. AT The Epicurean it is about a very precise style which is the fruit of a collective work perfectly orchestrated by Rikard Hult. If the gastronomic signature draws on the immense heritage of traditions, it also finds a particular perspective in the Swedish origin of the chef. Precision, spontaneity, mastery and concomitance of all flavors are essential. Here, any dish composition also plays on the combination of textures that the contrast of temperatures can serve. The warmth of a chocolate fondant associated with an ice cream, the freshness of a crème brûlée extracted under the crisp heat of a caramel, give Rikard Hult the most brilliant popular illustrations. Consequently, the food and wine blend calls for the same taste and expressive exactitude in all its nuances.

Natural wines and respect for flavors

In a cuisine that aims to be the expression of the right flavor, the intact aroma, the exact texture, the temperature controlled, the rule is also transmitted to the wines. From organic, biodynamic or natural vinifications, the wines selected by Rikard Hult and Guillaume Roubet perfectly match the gastronomic commitment of the Epicurean. The spirit is first and foremost democratic and partisan. It supports and favors creative winegrowers who take care of the expression of their terroir, their vines and their climate without ever lying. Truth in wine, personality in winemaking, are the perfect allies of a cuisine that first seeks the full and complete expression of nature. And the marriage turns out to be as consistent as it is delicious, just as demanding as it is successful. If Rikard Hult likes to say that "the winegrowers are always ahead", then the alliance they find with the Epicurean also testifies to a form of gastronomy which models with them a new relationship to the world where the germinates. future and innovation.

The counterpart of consistency and high standards is recognition. For Rikard Hult and the whole Epicurean team, it means obtaining a Bib Gourmand with Michelin in 2017. For Guillaume Roubet, this is the award of two Gault and Millau prizes: Grand Sud-Ouest Sommelier Trophy and in 2013 Discovery wine list in 2017.

http://www.restaurantlepicurien.com/


Restaurant l'Epicurienlocate Locate on the map
42 Place Jean Jaures
81000 Albi

phone 05 63 53 10 70


Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

French FR English EN

Rikard Hult, l’Épicurien à Albi


En associant sa cuisine à une carte des vins exclusivement bios, biodynamiques ou naturels, Rikard Hult atteste d’une cohérence gastronomique : celle qui se concentre sur le travail de produits naturels préservés dans leur pleine expression.


Entre gastronomie et philosophie

Rares sont les chefs qui accordent au vin une attention parfaitement égale à celle de leur cuisine. Au cœur du vignoble de Gaillac, Rikard Hult est de ceux-là. À la tête du restaurant l’Épicurien à Albi depuis quatorze ans, il partage avec Guillaume Roubet son sommelier la même exigence et la même philosophie. Pour qu’une cuvée figure sur la carte des vins elle doit répondre à une liste de critères : pas d’intrants chimiques, vendanges manuelles, vinification à partir de levures indigènes, sulfites réduits au minimum. Dès lors, la cave trouvée à L’Épicurien ne ressemblera à aucune autre. Privilégiant les circuits de proximité, portant ses choix sur des vignerons créatifs et engagés, la gastronomie en ces lieux s’impose aussi comme une philosophie du développement durable et du partage humaniste.

Mets et vins en accords expressifs

Ce qui relève du choix des vins découle en premier lieu de la détermination culinaire. À l’Épicurien il s’agit d’un style bien précis qui est le fruit d’un travail collectif parfaitement orchestré par Rikard Hult. Si la signature gastronomique puise dans l’immense patrimoine des traditions, elle trouve également une perspective particulière dans l’origine suédoise du chef. Précision, spontanéité, maîtrise et concomitance de toutes les saveurs sont d’abord de rigueur. Ici, toute composition de plat joue également de l’assemblage des textures que peut servir le contraste des températures. La tiédeur d’un fondant au chocolat associé à une crème glacée, la fraîcheur d’une crème brulée extraite sous la chaleur croustillante d’un caramel, en donnent pour Rikard Hult les illustrations populaires les plus géniales. Dès lors, l’assemblage mets et vins appelle dans toutes ses nuances la même exactitude gustative et expressive.

Vins naturels et respect des saveurs

Dans une cuisine qui se veut l’expression de la saveur juste, de l’arôme intact, de la texture exacte, de la température maîtrisée, la règle se transmet également aux vins. Issus de vinifications bios, biodynamiques ou naturelles, les vins sélectionnés par Rikard Hult et Guillaume Roubet collent parfaitement à l’engagement gastronomique de l’Épicurien. L’esprit est d’abord démocrate et partisan. Il soutient et privilégie les vignerons créateurs qui soignent l’expression de leur terroir, de leur vigne et de leur climat sans jamais mentir. La vérité dans le vin, la personnalité dans la vinification, sont les parfaits alliés d’une cuisine qui cherche d’abord l’expression pleine et entière de la nature. Et le mariage se révèle tout aussi cohérent que délicieux, tout aussi exigent que réussi. Si Rikard Hult se plait à dire que « les vignerons sont toujours en avance », alors l’alliance qu’ils trouvent auprès de l’Épicurien témoigne également d’une forme de gastronomie qui modèle avec eux une nouvelle relation au monde où germe l’avenir et la novation.

La contrepartie de la cohérence et de l’exigence est la reconnaissance. Pour Rikard Hult et toute l’équipe de l’Épicurien, c’est l’obtention d’un Bib Gourmand au Michelin en 2017. Pour Guillaume Roubet, c’est l’attribution de deux prix Gault et Millau : Trophée Sommelier du Grand Sud-Ouest en 2013 et Carte des vins découverte en 2017.

http://www.restaurantlepicurien.com/


Restaurant l’Épicurienlocaliser Situer sur la carte
42 Place Jean Jaurès
81000 Albi

telephone 05 63 53 10 70


visiter les Vignobles d'Occitanie