Chateau Viguerie de Beulaygue

Wines of Fronton


The Domain Beulaygue Viguerie very early on was one of the fields of Fronton that grab your attention. Although located to the north of the appellation, the wines produced there have the reputation of being the most southern in thedesignation Fronton.


A quiet domain

Chateau Viguerie de Beulaygue is a quiet estate established north of the vineyards of Fronton, near the village of Labastide-Saint-Pierre. Located on a topography of flat soils, the site takes its name from the Occitan “beautiful waters”. The vineyard extends here on land where layers of boulbènes alternate with red clays. The contrasting nature of the soils contributes to the nuance of the wines produced on the estate. In this agricultural region where the tradition was polyculture, the Château Viguerie de Beulaygue has been dedicated to viticulture for two generations. Jeanine and Cédric Faure produce there wines of Fronton well worked and built on harvest carried out at full maturity. The Negrette, the native grape variety is in the spotlight and skilfully blends with the diversity of grape varieties grown on the estate.

Passion for the vine

À Château Viguerie de Beulaygue we have a passion for the vine. Fourteen grape varieties come together over twenty-two hectares. They offer a great opportunity for nuances in winemaking. Apart from the Négrette which necessarily dominates the entire vineyard, we note the presence of Syrah, Gamay, Cabernets, Malbec, and Servadou iron, all dedicated to making red wines. For another part of the production of red wines vinified in IGP, Tannat, Marcelan ou Grenache complete the palette. To these are added two hectares of Sauvignon, Sémillon, Muscadelle, Chenin et Ondenc dedicated to aging dry or sweet white wines. With an extensive palette, Cédric Faure very early on was one of the winegrowers of Fronton that sustain attention. His passion for the vine goes hand in hand with his passion for wine. When Cédric Faure conducts a tasting, he does so with a pragmatism that allows him to grasp all the nuances offered by his terroir.

All the faces of the Négrette

Red mullet et The Boulbènes, each extracted from soils of different natures, highlight two expressions of Négrette in its pure state. The Cross of the Lamb commemorates a story from the local past where the estate donated a lamb to the priest of the town on the day of the Easter rogations. This cuvée nuances the Négrette with the aromatics of Syrah supported by a hint of Cabernet. The Enchanter presents itself as the emblematic cuvée of the estate. It highlights the work of a Fronton authentic, where the marriage of Négrette and Syrah is reinforced by aging in barrels. To the family we will add The ancestors, where 50% Négrette blended equally with Syrah and Cabernet Sauvignon, before aging wisely in the nuances of wood. Out of appellation Fronton, we will be surprised by Ondenc worked in soft white, running in the Gaillac vineyard but exception to Chateau Viguerie de Beulaygues just as much as on the vineyard of Fronton.

The wines of Fronton

The vineyard of Fronton derives its specificity
of an indigenous grape variety: Négrette.

French FR English EN

Château Viguerie de Beulaygue

Vins de Fronton


Le domaine Viguerie de Beulaygue a très tôt compté parmi les domaines de Fronton qui retiennent l’attention. Bien que situé au nord de l’appellation, les vins qui y sont produits ont la réputation d’être les plus méridionaux de l’appellation Fronton.


Un domaine tranquille

Château Viguerie de Beulaygue est un domaine tranquille établi au nord du vignoble de Fronton, près du village de Labastide-Saint-Pierre. Situé sur une topographie de sols plats, le site tire son nom de l’occitan « belles eaux ». Le vignoble s’étend ici sur des terres où les nappes de boulbènes alternent avec les argiles rouges. La nature contrastée des sols contribue à la nuance des vins produits sur le domaine. Dans cette région agricole où la tradition était à la polyculture, le château Viguerie de Beulaygue se consacre à la viticulture depuis deux générations. Jeanine et Cédric Faure y produisent des vins de Fronton bien travaillés et construits sur des vendanges effectuées à pleine maturité. La Négrette, le cépage autochtone, s’y trouve à l’honneur et se marie habilement à la diversité des cépages cultivés au domaine.

La passion de la vigne

À château Viguerie de Beulaygue on a la passion de la vigne. Quatorze cépages s’y côtoient sur vingt-deux hectares. Ils offrent une belle opportunité de nuances en vinification. Hormis la Négrette qui domine nécessairement tout le vignoble, on relève la présence des Syrah, Gamay, Cabernets, Malbec, et Fer Servadou, tous dédiés à l’élaboration des vins rouges. À destination d’une autre partie de la production de vins rouges vinifiés en IGP, Tannat, Marselan ou Grenache viennent compléter la palette. À ceux-là s’ajoutent deux hectares de Sauvignon, Sémillon, Muscadelle, Chenin et Ondenc consacrés à l’élevage des vins blancs secs ou moelleux. Disposant d’une palette étendue, Cédric Faure a très tôt compté parmi les vignerons de Fronton qui soutiennent l’attention. Sa passion de la vigne va de concert avec sa passion du vin. Lorsque Cédric Faure conduit une dégustation, il le fait avec un pragmatisme qui permet d’appréhender toutes les nuances offertes par son terroir.

Tous les visages de la Négrette

Les Rougets et Les Boulbènes, extraits chacun de sols aux natures différentes, mettent en valeur deux expressions de la Négrette à l’état pur. La Croix de l’Agneau commémore une histoire du passé local où le domaine faisait don d’un agneau au prêtre de la commune le jour des rogations pascales. Cette cuvée nuance la Négrette avec les aromatiques de la Syrah appuyées d’un soupçon de Cabernet. L’Enchanteur se présente comme la cuvée emblématique du domaine. Elle met en avant le travail d’un Fronton authentique, où le mariage de la Négrette et de la Syrah est conforté par un élevage en fûts. À la famille on rajoutera Les Aïeux, où la Négrette à 50 % s’est alliée à part égales avec Syrah et Cabernet Sauvignon, avant de sagement vieillir dans les nuances du bois. Hors appellation Fronton, on se laissera surprendre par L’Ondenc travaillé en blanc moelleux, courant dans le vignoble de Gaillac mais d’exception au Château Viguerie de Beulaygues tout autant que sur le vignoble de Fronton.

Les vins de Fronton

Le vignoble de Fronton tire sa spécificité
d’un cépage autochtone : la Négrette.

French FR English EN