Gaudou Castle

Cahors wineVineyards and discoveriesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Fabrice Durou, winemaker at Gaudou Castle, develops Cahors wines which reconcile the resources of the grape variety between tradition and contemporaneity Malbec.


An ancestral domain

On the vineyard of Cahors, in Vire sur Lot, Gaudou Castle is a historic stronghold of local viticulture. The activity is listed there since the beginning of the XVIIIe century and it is from a line of seven generations of winegrowers that Fabrice Durou is today the heir. As was customary in the past, the estate's economy was built on polyculture. The wine trade in barrels and the cultivation of lavender were its main resources. From this ancestral vein well anchored in the land of Lot, the Gaudou Castle today draws all its momentum and topicality. Fabrice Durou has been able to adapt the family history to the requirements of modernity giving the estate the scope of a real winery. The Cahors wines he produces reveal the full dimension of the Malbec grape, combining tradition and contemporaneity in two ranges dedicated to each universe.

A terroir full of nuances

Au Gaudou Castle, the vineyard literally shelters an ancestral testimony: the domain conceals a plot planted with prephylloxic grape varieties. Their heritage presence infuses it with a certain charm accompanied by the certainty that the wine is built here on the particular qualities of the terroir. The Malbec, which forges the wines of Cahors, in fact reveals on these lands a whole range of expressive nuances which are also the ambassadors of the individual plots. Because it was obvious for Fabrice Durou, enlightened by the experience acquired in the vineyards of Bordeaux or Australia, that the identity of Gaudou Castle emanated from the subtle nuances of soils and micro-climates present on the estate. Without forgetting that the preservation of the heritage richness based on a full expression of the vine is necessarily accompanied by environmental requirements. This is how the domain already certified High Environmental Value (French Environmental Label) started its organic conversion in 2016.

Parcel expressions

Un Cahors wine is first of all a red wine holding the first ranks in the wine history of the South-West. At Gaudou Castle a place is preserved for the vinifications and the maturing which perpetuate the classic profiles of the appellation. Inventory a Château de Gaudou "Tradition", or the vintages Great Lineage ou Renaissance each from vines located on the third terrace. These wines bear witness to the know-how of the Durou family and echo the living memory of the estate. Fabrice Durou's signature with the series is superimposed on this representative range of traditional Cahors. The Millennia. This is about Cahors wines embroidered with finesse over the plot singularities. They are the perfect ambassadors of the renewal initiated within the appellation which has led the Cahors winegrowers to refocus their wines on the revelation of the expressive extent of Malbec. The variation of the labels is enough to capture its spirit: Fawn Caillau, White Pebble, Chemin d'Orgueil, Rey Road, Gaudou path. It is of course a whole topography which takes shape there and of which each wine of the collection comes to reveal the specificities of the plot. When tasting, the experience is as convincing as it is fascinating. It offers itself as a crossing of the terroir where the Malbec captures every finesse and every complexity inherent in the soil in which it has taken root.

separateur-vigne-vines-148px

The Blood of my Earth

Among the other original cuvées of the Chateau Gaudou, there is a plot selection of the great terroirs of the estate created in 2013. This cuvée entitled The Blood of my Earth is the result of a duo between the winegrower Fabrice Durou and the writer Jean-Pierre Alaux, author of the series The Blood of the Vine.


Gaudou Castle
Gaudou
46700 Vire-sur-Lot

phone +33 5 65 36 5293


A response to “Château de Gaudou”

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

French FR English EN

Château de Gaudou

Vin de CahorsVignobles et découvertesHaute Valeur Environnementale


Fabrice Durou, vigneron au Château de Gaudou, élabore des vins de Cahors qui concilient entre tradition et contemporanéité les ressources du cépage Malbec.


Un domaine ancestral

Sur le vignoble de Cahors, à Vire sur Lot, le Château de Gaudou est un fief historique de la viticulture locale. L’activité y est recensée depuis le début du XVIIIe siècle et c’est d’une lignée de sept générations de vignerons que Fabrice Durou est aujourd’hui l’héritier. Comme il était coutume par le passé, l’économie du domaine s’était bâtie sur la polyculture. Le négoce du vin en barriques et la culture de la lavande en furent les ressources principales. De cette veine ancestrale bien ancrée dans la terre lotoise, le Château de Gaudou tire aujourd’hui toute sa dynamique et son actualité. Fabrice Durou a su adapter l’histoire familiale aux exigences de la modernité donnant au domaine l’envergure d’une véritable winery. Les vins de Cahors qu’il produit révèlent toute la dimension du cépage Malbec, alliant tradition et contemporanéité en deux gammes dédiées à chaque univers.

Un terroir tout en nuances

Au Château de Gaudou, le vignoble abrite littéralement un témoignage ancestral : le domaine recèle une parcelle complantée de cépages préphylloxériques. Leur présence patrimoniale y insuffle un charme certain accompagné de la certitude que le vin se construit ici sur les qualités particulières du terroir. Le Malbec qui forge les vins de Cahors révèle en effet sur ces terres toute une palette de nuances expressives qui sont aussi les ambassadrices des singularités parcellaires. Car ce fut une évidence pour Fabrice Durou, éclairé par l’expérience acquise dans les vignobles du bordelais ou d’Australie, que l’identité de Château de Gaudou émanait des subtiles nuances de sols et de micro-climats présents sur le domaine. Sans oublier que la préservation de la richesse patrimoniale assise sur une pleine expression de la vigne s’accompagnent nécessairement d’exigences environnementales. C’est ainsi que le domaine déjà certifié Haute Valeur Environnementale a engagé sa conversion bio en 2016.

Des expressions parcellaires

Un Cahors est d’abord un vin rouge tenant les premiers rangs de l’histoire viticole du Sud-ouest. Au Château de Gaudou une place est préservée pour les vinifications et les élevages qui perpétuent les profils classiques de l’appellation. S’y inventorient un Château de Gaudou «Tradition», ou encore les cuvées Grande Lignée ou Renaissance issues chacune de vignes situées en troisième terrasse. Ces vins témoignent du savoir-faire de la famille Durou et font écho à la mémoire vivante du domaine. À cette gamme représentative des Cahors de tradition s’est superposée la signature de Fabrice Durou avec la série Les Milléniums. Il s’agit ici de vins brodés avec finesse au fil des singularités parcellaires. Ils sont les parfaits ambassadeurs du renouveau engagé au sein de l’appellation qui a conduit les vignerons de Cahors à recentrer leurs vins sur la révélation de l’étendue expressive du Malbec. La déclinaison des étiquettes suffit à en saisir l’esprit : Caillau Fauve, Caillou Blanc, Chemin d’Orgueil, Chemin du Rey, Chemin de Gaudou. C’est bien entendu tout une topographie qui s’y dessine et dont chaque vin de la collection vient révéler les spécificités parcellaires. À la dégustation l’expérience est aussi probante que passionnante. Elle s’offre comme une traversée du terroir où le Malbec vient capter chaque finesse et chaque complexité inhérentes au sol dans lequel il a pris racine.

separateur-vigne-pampres-148px

Le Sang de ma Terre

Parmi les autres cuvées originales du Château Gaudou, on trouve une sélection parcellaire des grands terroirs du domaine créé en 2013. Cette cuvée intitulée Le Sang de ma Terre est issue d’un duo entre le vigneron Fabrice Durou et l’écrivain Jean-Pierre Alaux, auteur de la série Le Sang de la Vigne.

Chateau de Gaudou - Le Sang de ma Terre

Château de Gaudou
Gaudou
46700 Vire-sur-Lot

telephone +33 5 65 36 5293


Une réponse sur “Château de Gaudou”

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.