Terride Castle

Gaillac winesFrom an HVE operation


In the Gaillac vineyard, Terride Castle is a lovely place. Located near the Grésigne forest, this elegant and sober residence is run by a family of winegrowers from father to daughter. Alix david and her husband Roman lead their destiny in a framework that reflects their perfect harmony.


At the edge of the woods

Le Terride Castle could not have existed without its natural cradle: the Grésigne forest. Because it is in the heart of the woods that the story begins. First with a hunting lodge which became a residence of glass gentlemen in the XNUMXth centurye century. At that time, the presence of large oaks, siliceous soils and ferns had allowed a glass economy to establish there. The vine existed only as a domestic supplement. The Revolution, meanwhile, did its work and the Terride Castle survived as a castle of the Sleeping Beauty. The wine awakening came in the 60s when a new owner descended from Alsace began to clear the forest edges to develop vines. The first Merlots thus occupied the land conquered in the woods. They are still today among the oldest grape varieties of the Domaine.

Alix and Romain

In 1996, the David family acquired the Terride Castle. Alix, the girl, falls in love with the still uninhabitable house and begins restoration work. Because for this family from a line of Gaillac winegrowersIt was obvious that an estate would prosper here. Gaining some land in the forest, the vineyard is enriched with new grape varieties. From now on, Syrah, Braucol et Duras for the reds, Mauzac et Far from the eye for the whites, they thrive on 35 hectares. Not to mention Alix's taste for southern wines which pushed her to acclimatize Grenache et Viognier. Since 2015 she has held the reins of the family estate alongside Roman became her husband. Concerned about sustainable and qualitative development, they both lead the destiny of Terride Castle according to standards and label requirements High environmental quality.

Terride wines

Au Terride Castle, the wines bear the signature ofAlix. The result is a typical range of Gaillac wines, imbued with family know-how, but delivering a feminine touch full of character. In the tradition we will count the Cuvée du Château, a selection of old vines where Syrah combines with Duras and Braucol. This cuvée illustrates Alix's stance: the discretion of the woodiness which sets the expression of fruits and spices in the foreground. With Your Hand on my Way The love story comes into play: a duo work for which Romain wished to invite a Braucol entirely vinified then aged in barrels. A red wine from Gaillac all in romanticism! Then comes the titillating waltz of sparkling wines, with theMoment Terride, a pure Mauzac produced according to the ancestral method. A benchmark of its kind! One of Alix's creative fantasies is the elegant silhouette of a Feast of the Angels, a sailing wine pampered for seven years. A rarity alluding to nuts and candied fruits supported by freshness and power in the mouth. Character we will of course find in Les Caprices d'Alix, a dry white wine in 100% Viognier, with a perfectly convincing southern inspiration. And if we had to conclude, it would be on Diva, advertised as the "flagship of Château de Terride" which grows the oldest vines on the estate to their optimum expression.

learn more The wines of Gaillac

French FR English EN

Château de Terride


Dans le vignoble de Gaillac, le Château de Terride est un lieu charmant. Située en proximité de la forêt de Grésigne, cette demeure élégante et sobre est tenue par une famille de vignerons de père en fille. Alix David et son mari Romain en conduisent la destinée dans un cadre qui traduit leur parfait accord.


À l’orée du bois

Le Château de Terride n’aurait su exister sans son berceau naturel : la forêt de Grésigne. Car c’est au cœur des bois que commence l’histoire. D’abord avec un relais de chasse qui devint une demeure de gentilshommes verriers au XVIIe siècle. À cette époque, la présence des grands chênes, des sols siliceux et des fougères avait permis à une économie verrière de s’y établir. La vigne n’existait que comme appoint domestique. La Révolution, entre temps, fit son œuvre et le Château de Terride subsista comme un château de la Belle au bois dormant. Le réveil viticole intervint dans les années 60 où un nouveau propriétaire descendu d’Alsace entreprit de défricher les lisières forestières pour y développer la vigne. Les premiers Merlot occupèrent ainsi le terrain conquis sur les bois. Ils comptent encore aujourd’hui parmi les plus vieux cépages du Domaine.

La famille David

En 1996, la famille David fait l’acquisition du Château de Terride. Alix, la fille, s’éprend de la demeure encore inhabitable et engage les travaux de restauration. Car pour cette famille issue d’une lignée de vignerons de Gaillac, l’évidence qu’un domaine prospèrerait ici s’imposa d’emblée. Gagnant quelques terres sur la forêt, le vignoble s’enrichit de nouveaux cépages. Désormais, Syrah, Braucol et Duras pour les rouges, Mauzac et Loin de l’Œil pour les blancs, y prospèrent sur 35 hectares. Sans compter le goût d’Alix pour les vins méridionaux qui l’a poussée à acclimater Grenache et Viognier. Depuis 2015 elle tient les rênes du domaine familial au côté de Romain devenu son mari. Soucieux de développement durable et qualitatif, ils mènent tous deux le destin du Château de Terride selon les normes et les exigences du label Haute Qualité Environnementale.

Les vins de Terride

Au Château de Terride, les vins portent la signature d’Alix. Il en résulte une gamme typique des vins de Gaillac, imprégnée du savoir-faire familial, mais livrant une touche féminine pleine de caractère. Dans la tradition on comptera la Cuvée du Château, une sélection des vieilles vignes où la Syrah fait alliance avec Duras et Braucol. Cette cuvée illustre le parti-pris d’Alix : la discrétion du boisé qui fixe au premier plan l’expression des fruits et des épices. Avec Ta Main sur mon Chemin entre en scène le récit amoureux : une œuvre en duo pour laquelle Romain a souhaité inviter un Braucol intégralement vinifié puis élevé en barrique. Un vin de Gaillac tout en romantisme ! Puis vient la valse émoustillante des bulles, avec l’Instant Terride, un pur Mauzac élaboré selon la méthode ancestrale. Une référence du genre ! Comptant parmi les fantaisies créatives d’Alix se glisse la silhouette élégante d’un Festin des Anges, un vin de voile bichonné durant sept ans. Une rareté tout en évocation de noix et de fruits confits soutenus de fraîcheur et puissance en bouche. Du caractère on en retrouvera bien-sûr dans Les Caprices d’Alix, un blanc sec en 100 % Viognier, d’inspiration méridionale parfaitement convaincante. Et s’il nous fallait conclure, ce serait sur Diva, annoncée comme le « fleuron du Château de Terride » qui pousse à leur expression optimale les plus vieilles vignes du domaine.

Instant Terride – Vins de Gaillac effervescents (à consommer avec modération)

Haute Valeur Environnementalevignes http://www.chateaudeterride.com/


Château de Terridelocaliser Situer sur la carte
81140 Puycelsi

telephone 05 63 33 26 63