Chateau Joliet

Wines of Fronton


On the vineyard of Fronton, at Château Joliet, Marie-Ange and Jérôme Soriano produce traditional wines that are committed to successfully promoting the specific grape variety of the appellation: Négrette.


Between Fronton and Tolosan County

Chateau Joliet takes its name from a locality in the vineyard of Fronton. This small property located on the hillsides had been operated in cooperative viticulture since 1980. It was taken over in 2010 by Marie-Ange and Jérôme Soriano who have since endeavored to promote the vineyard as independent winegrowers. Aware of the need to affirm the specificity of a terroir, they devote themselves to winemaking that is perfectly in line with the tradition ofAOP Fronton. The vines cover an area of ​​25 hectares. Specific to the appellation, the Négrette is in the majority as it should be. This grape variety, well suited to the production of red wine, coexists on the estate with Syrah and Cabernets for the most common blends. For the whites, vinified in IGP County Tolosan, the winegrowers' choice fell mainly on Sémillon, Muscat and Muscadelle.

The Négrette in the foreground

When Marie-Ange and Jérôme Soriano talk about Négrette they first note the care required by the grape variety. Although adapted to the climate and the terroirs of the Tarn valley where its presence is attested from the XNUMXthe century, Négrette is no less capricious. With a compact cluster and fairly thin skin, the grape variety can indeed prove to be vulnerable to vine diseases. But from this demanding species we extract a red wine with strong typicity, a true signature of the appellation. Its color first, rich in anthocyanins, is a dense and deep red. From this dominant visual she inherited other evocative names such as Black madwoman ou Negret of the Tarn. Then its bouquet, identifiable among all, where violet and liquorice come in the foreground, supported by spices and red fruits. It is in respect of this traditional typicity of Fronton that we are attached to Chateau Joliet.

Traditional vinification

Marie-Ange and Jérôme Soriano make Chateau Joliet the mark of a Fronton of tradition. Evidenced by one of their cuvée which reveals in its pure state a 100% Négrette. But make no mistake: the know-how of each estate expresses a variety of nuances in Négrette. To Chateau Joliet it leans much more on the fruit side than on the spice side. It owes its features to a harvest with good maturation followed by aging in vats which retain the aromas. In accordance with the appellation specifications Fronton, blending cuvées are also traditional. They combine the Négrette with the complementary qualities of the Syrah or Cabernets. Harmony is well established with the cuvée Tradition awarded in 2017 at the Concours Général Agricole. Outside the appellation, Chateau Joliet also produces dry and sweet white wines, exploring the aromatic subtleties of Muscat and Sémillon. In the same spirit and even more unique, the cuvée Dolce Vita explores in pink color and with sparkle the resources of a 100% Muscat in a style very specific to the domain.

The wines of Fronton

The vineyard of Fronton derives its specificity
of an indigenous grape variety: Négrette

French FR English EN

Château Joliet


Sur le vignoble de Fronton, au Château Joliet, Marie-Ange et Jérôme Soriano produisent des vins de tradition qui s’attachent à valoriser avec succès le cépage spécifique de l’appellation : la Négrette.


Entre Fronton et Comté Tolosan

Château Joliet tire son nom d’un lieu-dit sur le vignoble de Fronton. Cette petite propriété située sur les coteaux était exploitée en viticulture coopérative depuis 1980. Elle fut reprise en 2010 par Marie-Ange et Jérôme Soriano qui s’attachent depuis à promouvoir le vignoble en tant que vignerons indépendants. Conscients de la nécessité d’affirmer la spécificité d’un terroir, ils se consacrent à une vinification parfaitement inscrite dans la tradition de l’AOC. Les vignes occupent une surface de 25 hectares. Spécifique à l’appellation, la Négrette s’y trouve majoritaire comme il se doit. Ce cépage, bien adapté à la production de vin rouge, cohabite sur le domaine avec la Syrah et les Cabernets pour les assemblages les plus courants. Pour les blancs, vinifiés en IGP Comté Tolosan, le choix des vignerons s’est porté sur le Sémillon, le Muscat et la Muscadelle principalement.

La Négrette au premier plan

Lorsque Marie-Ange et Jérôme Soriano parlent de la Négrette ils relèvent d’abord le soin requis par le cépage. Bien qu’adaptée au climat et aux terroirs de la vallée du Tarn où sa présence est attestée dès le VIe siècle, la Négrette n’en est pas moins capricieuse. De grappe compacte et de peau assez fine, le cépage peu en effet s’avérer vulnérable aux maladies de la vigne. Mais de cette espèce exigeante on extrait un vin rouge à forte typicité, véritable signature de l’AOC. Sa robe d’abord, riche en anthocyanes, est d’un rouge dense et profond. De ce visuel dominant elle a hérité d’autres dénominations évocatrices telles que Folle noire ou Négret du Tarn. Ensuite son bouquet, identifiable entre tous, où violette et réglisse viennent en premier plan, secondées par les épices et les fruits rouges. C’est au respect de cette typicité traditionnelle du Fronton que l’on s’attache à Château Joliet.

Une vinification de tradition

Marie-Ange et Jérôme Soriano font de Château Joliet la marque d’un Fronton de tradition. En témoigne l’une de leur cuvée qui dévoile à l’état pur un 100% Négrette. Mais que l’on ne s’y méprenne pas : le savoir-faire de chaque domaine exprime de la Négrette une variété de nuances. À Château Joliet elle penche beaucoup plus côté fruit que côté épices. Elle doit ses traits à une récolte à bonne maturation suivie d’un élevage en cuve qui fidélise les arômes. Conformément à l’AOC, les cuvées d’assemblage sont également de tradition. Elles viennent marier la Négrette aux qualités complémentaires de la Syrah ou des Cabernets. L’harmonie est bien établie avec la cuvée Tradition primée en 2017 au Concours Général Agricole. Hors AOC, Château Joliet produit également vins blancs secs et doux, explorant les subtilités aromatiques du Muscat et du Sémillon. Dans le même esprit et encore plus singulière, la cuvée Dolce Vita explore en couleur rosée et avec pétillement les ressources d’un 100 % Muscat dans un style bien spécifique au domaine.

en savoir + Les Vins de Fronton


Château Jolietlocaliser Situer sur la carte

telephone