The Mauzac ancestral method

Wines from Gaillac - Mauzac sparkling
Mauzac effervescent - Château Clément Termes, Domaine Sarrabelle and Château Lastours

Gaillac wines


Among the sparkling wines of the southwest, the Mauzac ancestral method produced in the Gaillac appellation testifies to a know-how inherited from the oldest wine-growing traditions of Occitania..


The great Mauzac family

In the vineyards of the south-west, each terroir conceals these peculiarities of grape varieties which determine the specific character of an appellation. The region of Gaillac is certainly the most demonstrative example because the vines contain several indigenous species. The Mauzac holds a very unique place there. Mainly known in white color, the family also includes a Mauzac rosé resulting from a natural mutation. In a conservatory spirit, we find at Domaine Plageoles an even broader genealogy where green, golden or black variants coexist. This shows the vitality and rich heritage of Mauzac in the Gaillac vineyards.

The Mauzac ancestral method

Without derogating from its diversity, Mauzac is expressed in the majority white color in theGaillac appellation. Its presence results in the production of a typical and sparkling wine: the Mauzac ancestral method. This is of course a sparkling wine whose production differs from the Champagne method in the sense that it uses the traditional technique of fermentation in the bottle, without the addition of sugar. It is the residual sugars preserved in the initial fermentation and associated with the yeasts captured in the wine that will cause a second fermentation once these first juices are bottled. The bubbles then form there under the pressure of the captured gas.

A sparkle of fruit

Wrapped by its robe of light bubbles, the bouquet of Mauzac is distinguished at first evocations by its aromas of apple or pear. Wine is necessarily a wine of the year with a character full of freshness. Produced in nuances that oscillate between brut and semi-dry, this dominant nose develops other underlying complexities according to the know-how of each domain and the determinism of each terroir. But one thing is obvious: The Mauzac ancestral method, resulting from a wine-making technique that is also called and par excellence Gaillac method, accompanies the local tradition with a very nice festive accent. Companion for small and large occasions, as comfortable with a dessert as with a tasting of cheese, the Mauzac ancestral method is the wine of all the festive traditions on theAOP Gaillac.

arabesque vine

Some good addresses

Domaine Sarrabelle - Gaillac vineyard

Sarrabelle domain

On the Gaillac vineyard, the Domaine Sarrabelle vines thrive on exceptional soils. The vinifications are particularly ...
Read more…
Château Lastours - Gaillac vineyard

Chateau Lastours

In the Gaillac vineyard, Château Lastours covers fifty-five hectares of vines, fifty of which are in full production. Doing honor ...
Read more…

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

French FR English EN

Le Mauzac méthode ancestrale

Vins de Gaillac - Mauzac effervescent
Mauzac effervescent – Château Clément Termes, Domaine Sarrabelle et Château Lastours

Vins de Gaillac


Parmi les vins effervescents du sud-ouest, le Mauzac méthode ancestrale produit dans l’appellation Gaillac témoigne d’un savoir-faire hérité des plus anciennes traditions viticoles d’Occitanie.


La grande famille du Mauzac

Dans les vignobles du sud-ouest, chaque terroir recèle ces singularités de cépages qui déterminent le caractère propre d’une appellation. La région de Gaillac en est certainement l’exemple le plus démonstratif car les vignes y comptent plusieurs espèces autochtones. Le Mauzac y tient une place fort singulière. Principalement connue en couleur blanche, la famille compte également un Mauzac rosé issu d’une mutation naturelle. Dans un esprit conservatoire, on trouve au Domaine Plageoles une généalogie encore plus large où cohabitent des variantes verte, dorée ou noire. C’est dire la vitalité et la richesse patrimoniale du Mauzac sur le vignoble de Gaillac.

Le Mauzac méthode ancestrale

Sans déroger à sa diversité, le Mauzac s’exprime en couleur blanche majoritaire dans l’appellation Gaillac. De sa présence découle la production d’un vin typique et pétillant : le Mauzac méthode ancestrale. Il s’agit là bien entendu d’un vin effervescent dont la production diffère de la méthode champenoise dans le sens où elle recourt à la technique traditionnelle de la fermentation en bouteille, sans adjonction de sucre. Ce sont les sucres résiduels préservés en fermentation initiale et associés aux levures capturées dans le vin qui vont provoquer une seconde fermentation une fois ces premiers jus embouteillés. Les bulles s’y forment alors sous la pression du gaz capturé.

Un pétillement de fruit

Enveloppé par sa robe de bulles légères, le bouquet du Mauzac se distingue en premières évocations par ses arômes de pomme ou de poire. Le vin est nécessairement un vin de l’année au caractère plein de fraîcheur. Produit en nuances qui oscillent entre brut et demi-sec, ce nez dominant développe d’autres complexités sous-jacentes selon les savoir-faire de chaque domaine et les déterminations de chaque terroir. Mais une évidence s’impose sans conteste : Le Mauzac méthode ancestrale, issu d’une technique vinicole que l’on appelle aussi et par excellence méthode gaillacoise, accompagne la tradition locale d’un très bel accent festif. Compagnon des petites et grandes occasions, aussi à l’aise sur un dessert que sur une dégustation de fromage, Le Mauzac méthode ancestrale est le vin de toutes les traditions festives sur l’AOP Gaillac.

vigne arabesque

Quelques bonnes adresses

Château de Terride - Vins de Gaillac

Château de Terride

Dans le vignoble de Gaillac, le Château de Terride est un lieu charmant. Située en proximité de la forêt de ...
Lire La Suite…
Domaine Sarrabelle - Vignoble de Gaillac

Domaine Sarrabelle

Dans le Gaillac, les vignes du Domaine Sarrabelle prospèrent sur des sols d’exception. Les vinifications y sont particulièrement soignées et ...
Lire La Suite…
Château Clément Termes

Château Clément Termes

Château Clément Termes est une propriété viticole familiale implantée à Lisle-sur-Tarn sur l'un des terroirs historiques des vins de Gaillac ...
Lire La Suite…
Château Lastours - Vignoble de Gaillac

Château Lastours

Dans le vignoble de Gaillac, Château Lastours s’étend sur cinquante-cinq hectares de vignes, dont cinquante en pleine production. Faisant honneur ...
Lire La Suite…