Mas Camps

Roussillon winesSweet and dry Maury winesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


On the Maury cru, Mas Camps first and foremost as a distinctive mark. It is indeed under this name claimed as a signature of its know-how thatOlivier Castells produces its wines.


A man and a domain

Mas Camps is a name that opens first on a meeting: that ofOlivier Castells. Here, the estate is inseparable from the man who breathes his soul into it. This is the case in Occitania vineyards : some winegrowers are endowed with a charisma which is also the tool from which they forge their wines. Because Mas Camps is located in the heart of a Roussillon cru with an assertive character: that of Maury. Renowned for its natural sweet wines, the appellation also gives substance to dry wines mainly made from Grenaches. The estate is established there at the confluence of two rivers: Agly and Maury, from which the land takes its name. At this point where the valley narrows, the landscape is imposing in nature. From this strategic bottleneck already known to the Romans, the vines stretch out to the horizon of Corbieres. High limestone reliefs draw the far limit. On these ridges of a luminous gray dominates the Quéribus castle.

Some red and some white

On this historic terroir which calls for respect for ancestral soil, Olivier Castells leads his vineyard under the certification High Environmental Value (French Environmental Label). This wine heritage developed over three generations includes 30 hectares of vines to which are contiguous 5 hectares of fallow land and moors. Formerly intended for the cooperative, the fruit of the harvest is now entirely vinified at the estate. AT Mas Camps, the grape variety reconciles white and red. The former see Maccabeu, Grenache blanc and gris, Muscats d'Alexandrie and à Petits Grains as well as Sauvignon in the plain. The reds are born from the alliance of Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre and Carignan. Young Cinsault people destined to introduce new expressions recently joined the family. The harvest, done by hand and then placed in vats by gravity, guarantees the irreproachable quality of the wines of Mas Camps.

Cuvées and typicities

For a winemaker who creates wines, the plot selections and the expressive potential of each harvest take precedence. AT Mas Camps, the vinifications and the maturing thus come under scores written to measure according to the potential dictated by each vintage. The wines have the typicality of the Catalan lands and the terroir of Maury. This is the case with Red bottle produced in Coasts of Roussillon Villages. Resulting from integral vinification where the dominant Mourvèdre is matched with Grenache, this cuvée consolidates its structure over 12 months of barrel aging. On a profile focused on the fruit, At the foot of the Roc finds its freshness in the blend of Mourvèdre, Carignan, Grenache and Syrah. It is offered in contrast with The Round of the Winds, solar cuvée where Grenache and Syrah reconcile maturity, complexity and roundness served by 15 months of aging. In another typicality, specific to Côtes Catalanes wines, a Carignan of pure expression. White wines are not left out in the vineyard of Mas Camps. Pearl Dawn, vinified in accordance with the singularity of each vintage, enhances a plot of old vines where Muscat and Maccabeu coexist. Vial, in white version, comes to seek the finest potential of white and gray Grenaches whose fine complexities match a 6-month aging in 500-liter barrels.

What about Maury's natural sweet wines?

Si Mas Camps stands out for its dry wines, the estate is also part of the historical continuity of the terroir of Maury, recognized since 1936 for its natural sweet wines. Olivier Castells perpetuates the aging of elegant traditional cuvées: Maury white, Maury red, but also a Muscat de Rivesaltes while seeking a balance of sugars and alcohols.

Mas Camps - Maury white

The appellation Maury

Known for its natural sweet wines from Roussillon but also for its red wines, Maury is both one of the oldest wine appellations in Roussillon and the smallest.

French FR English EN

Mas Camps

Vins du RoussillonVins de Maury doux et secsHaute Valeur Environnementale


Sur le cru Maury, Mas Camps s’impose d’abord comme une marque distinctive. C’est en effet sous ce nom revendiqué comme signature de son savoir-faire qu’Olivier Castells produit ses vins.


Un homme et un domaine

Mas Camps est un nom qui ouvre d’abord sur une rencontre : celle d’Olivier Castells. Ici, le domaine est indissociable de l’homme qui lui insuffle son âme. Il en est ainsi dans les vignobles d’Occitanie : certains vignerons sont doués d’un charisme qui est aussi l’outil dont ils forgent leurs vins. Car Mas Camps est implanté au cœur d’un cru du Roussillon au caractère affirmé : celui de Maury. Réputée pour ses vins doux naturels l’appellation donne également corps à des vins secs majoritairement construits sur des Grenaches. Le domaine y est établi à la confluence de deux rivières : l’Agly et le Maury dont le terroir tire son nom. À cet endroit où la vallée se resserre, le paysage est imposant de nature. Depuis ce goulet stratégique déjà connu des Romains, les vignes s’étendent jusqu’à l’horizon des Corbières. De hauts reliefs calcaires en dessinent la limite lointaine. Sur ces crêtes d’un gris lumineux domine le Château de Quéribus.

Des rouges et des blancs

Sur ce terroir historique qui appelle au respect du sol ancestral, Olivier Castells conduit son vignoble sous la certification Haute Valeur Environnementale. Ce patrimoine viticole développé depuis trois générations compte 30 hectares de vignes auxquels sont accolés 5 hectares de jachères et de landes. Anciennement destiné à la coopérative, le fruit de la vendange est aujourd’hui entièrement vinifié au domaine. À Mas Camps, l’encépagement concilie blancs et rouges. Les premiers voient cohabiter Maccabeu, Grenache blanc et gris, Muscats d’Alexandrie et à Petits grains ainsi que Sauvignon en plaine. Les rouges naissent de l’alliance des Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre et Carignan. De jeunes Cinsault destinés à introduire de nouvelles expressions ont rejoint récemment la famille. Les vendanges faites à la main puis mises en cuve par gravité garantissent la qualité irréprochable des vins de Mas Camps.

Des cuvées et des typicités

Pour un vigneron créateur de vins priment les sélections parcellaires et le potentiel expressif de chaque vendange. À Mas Camps, les vinifications et les élevages relèvent ainsi de partitions écrites sur mesure selon le potentiel dicté par chaque millésime. Les vins ont la typicité des terres catalanes et du terroir de Maury. Il en est ainsi du Flacon rouge produit en Côtes du Roussillon Villages. Issue d’une vinification intégrale où le Mourvèdre dominant est assorti au Grenache, cette cuvée conforte sa structure au fil de 12 mois d’élevage en fût. Sur un profil concentré sur le fruit, Au Pied du Roc trouve sa fraîcheur dans l’assemblage des Mourvèdre, Carignan, Grenache et Syrah. Il s’offre en contraste avec La Ronde des Vents, cuvée solaire où Grenache et Syrah concilient maturité, complexité et rondeur servies par 15 mois d’élevage. Dans une autre typicité, propre aux vins des Côtes Catalanes, s’impose un Carignan de pure expression. Les vins blancs ne sont pas en reste sur le vignoble de Mas Camps. Aube Nacrée, vinifiée en accord avec la singularité de chaque millésime, valorise une parcelle de vieilles vignes où cohabitent Muscat et Maccabeu. Le Flacon, en version blanc, vient chercher les plus beaux potentiels des Grenaches blancs et gris dont les fines complexités s’accordent d’un élevage de 6 mois en fûts de 500 litres.

Et les vins doux naturels de Maury ?

Si Mas Camps se distingue par ses vins secs, le domaine s’inscrit également dans la continuité historique du terroir de Maury, reconnu dès 1936 pour ses vins doux naturels. Olivier Castells y perpétue l’élevage d’élégantes cuvées traditionnelles : Maury blanc, Maury rouge, mais aussi un Muscat de Rivesaltes tout en recherche d’équilibre des sucres et des alcools.

Mas Camps - Maury blanc

en savoir + https://www.mas-camps.com/


Mas Camps
Route de Maury
RD 117
66460 Maury

telephone +33 6 23 78 76 82