Chateau Pech Redon

Wines of La ClapeOrganic wines


On the La Clape vineyard there is a name that stands out in the foreground: Chateau Pech Redon. Borrowing its title from one of the most picturesque sites in the massif, the estate is exemplary of the Mediterranean characteristics which distinguish the wines of the appellation. It is also one of the most respectful of the protected natural park which makes its environment.


Pech Redon: an ancient site

The Romans called it Rotundum Podium. They had established a villa in these places blessed by the gods. In the massif of La Clape, this unique and singular relief named today Pech Redon seems to have frozen in the magic of time. At its feet, nature is beautiful and the vines unfold there, lively and branched out in goblets. The biodiversity that reigns there is probably very close to that of antiquity. Thyme, rosemary, cysts and all the plants of the scrubland thrive here. Familiar with the vineyard, they permeate the spirit of the wine. When in 1988 Christophe Bousquet settled on the vineyard of Pech Redon, his first decision was to make this unique place the first organic domain in the La Clape massif. This determined choice, respectful of the native flora and fauna, gives the vines a vitality and a potential for expression which have made Chateau Pech Redon one of the most qualitative areas of the appellation.

Pech Redon: a virtuous cycle

The wines of Pech Redon have character: that of the place as well as that of the winegrower. The care given to the vines combined with the power of the terroir and the climate are the first ingredients of success. The requirement and pragmatism that go through the care that Christophe Bousquet brings to the vineyard, to winemaking and then to aging do the rest. The Languedoc goblet pruning offers the first virtue of regulating the effects of a pure Mediterranean climate. The harvest is carried out by hand and in crates in order to preserve the grapes and limit as much as possible the time between pruning and pressing. The vinification adopts protocols regulated on the perfect knowledge of the soil and the indigenous yeasts. The aging applies to nuances which reveal a skilful mix of creation and know-how. Because the wines of Pech Redon respond to a right determination: to make wines that are the most evocative translation possible of this remarkable site.

Pech Redon: aged wines

In the wines of Chateau Pech Redon In the first place, a mineral tension dominates where the powers of the fruit combine with the essences of garrigue and coniferous trees. Once grasped, this conductive axis unfolds in nuances testifying to great technical finesse. The range of red wines is clear and precise. The Cades, whose name borrows from that of a Mediterranean shrub, brings together a trio of Syrah, Grenache and Cinsault, carefully extracted during three weeks of maceration. The Hawk, star of the estate, is dominated by a Syrah with enhanced virtues in lightning, associated with a Grenache that the holding in vat sets on the fruit. The Centaury, from a Mourvèdre vinified with Syrah, pushes the aging logic even further to reveal its black fruits, warm spices and garrigue breaths after maturing for 30 months in 500-liter barrels. With The Genêts, Chardonnay and Viognier come together in collusion for a very nice surprise: that of a Mediterranean sailing wine. Under its golden yellow color tinged with freshness, it reveals a complex aromatic fabric where citrus peel weaves its way through dried flowers, candied fruits and memories of nuts or truffles. That they are developed in strict La Clape appellation or more broadly Languedoc, the wines of Pech Redon are obvious: that of being the full expression of a remarkable terroir, valued with integrity and virtuosity by Christophe Bousquet.

learn more The wines of La Clape

French FR English EN

Château Pech Redon


Sur le vignoble de La Clape il est un nom qui s’impose au premier plan : Château Pech Redon. Empruntant son intitulé à l’un des sites les plus pittoresques du massif, le domaine est exemplaire des typicités méditerranéennes qui distinguent les vins de l’AOC. Il est aussi l’un des plus respectueux du parc naturel protégé qui fait son environnement.


Pech Redon : un site antique

Les romains l’appelaient Podium Rotundum et avaient établi en ces lieux bénis des dieux une villa. Dans le massif de La Clape, ce relief unique et singulier nommé aujourd’hui Pech Redon semble s’être figé dans la magie du temps. À ses pieds la nature y est belle et les vignes s’y déploient, vives et ramifiées en gobelets. La biodiversité qui y règne est probablement très proche de celle de l’antiquité. Thym, romarin, cystes et toutes les plantes des garrigues prospèrent ici. Familières du vignoble, elles en imprègnent l’esprit du vin. Lorsqu’en 1988 Christophe Bousquet s’établit sur le vignoble de Pech Redon, sa première décision est de faire de ce lieu unique le premier domaine bio du massif de La Clape. Ce choix déterminé, respectueux de la faune et la flore autochtones, confère aux vignes une vitalité et un potentiel d’expression qui ont fait de Château Pech Redon l’un des domaines les plus qualitatifs de l’appellation.

Pech Redon : un cycle vertueux

Les vins de Pech Redon ont du caractère : celui des lieux tout autant que celui du vigneron. Le soin porté à la vigne allié à la puissance du terroir et du climat sont les premiers ingrédients de la réussite. L’exigence et le pragmatisme qui traversent le soin que Christophe Bousquet apporte au vignoble, à la vinification puis à l’élevage font le reste. La taille en gobelet languedocien offre comme première vertu de réguler les effets d’un pur climat méditerranéen. La vendange s’effectue à la main et en cagettes afin de préserver le raisin et limiter au maximum le délai qui sépare la taille du pressage. La vinification adopte des protocoles réglés sur la parfaite connaissance du terroir et des levures indigènes. L’élevage s’applique à des nuances qui se révèlent un adroit dosage de création et de savoir-faire. Car les vins de Pech Redon répondent à une droite détermination : faire des vins qui soient la traduction la plus évocatrice possible de ce site remarquable.

Pech Redon : des vins élevés

Dans les vins de Château Pech Redon domine en premier lieu une tension minérale où les puissances du fruit fréquentent les essences de garrigue et de résineux. Une fois saisi, cet axe conducteur se déploie en nuances témoignant d’une grande finesse technique. La gamme des vins rouges est claire et précise. Les Cades, dont le nom emprunte à celui d’un arbuste méditerranéen, fait jouer en trio un assemblage de Syrah, Grenache et Cinsault, structuré par trois semaines de macération. L’Épervier, star du domaine, est dominé par une Syrah aux vertus bonifiées en foudre, associée à un Grenache que le maintien en cuve a fixé sur le fruit. La Centaurée, issue d’un Mourvèdre vinifié avec la Syrah, pousse encore plus loin la logique d’élevage pour révéler ses fruits noirs, ses chaudes épices et ses souffles de garrigue après une maturation de 30 mois en fût de 500 litres. Avec Les Genêts, Chardonnay et Viognier s’allient de connivence pour une très belle surprise : celle d’un vin de voile méditerranéen, dont la robe jaune or teintée de fraîcheur dévoile un tissu aromatique complexe où les écorces d’agrumes se faufilent parmi les fleurs séchées, les fruits confits et les souvenirs de noix ou de truffe. Qu’ils soient élaborés en stricte appellation La Clape ou plus largement Languedoc, les vins de Pech Redon s’imposent par une évidence : celle d’être la pleine expression d’un terroir remarquable, valorisé avec probité et virtuosité par Christophe Bousquet.

en savoir + Les vins de La Clape


Château Pech Redonlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Chemin de la Couleuvre
11100 Narbonne

telephone 04 68 90 41 22