Prunelart by Clément Termes

Le Prunelart by Clément Termes - (Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health)

Gaillac winesThe interest of a wine produced in a single varietal grows when it opens with a revelation. This is the case of a new cuvée signed Clément Termes which brings back to life a typical grape variety from the Gaillac vineyard that we thought had long since disappeared: Prunelard.


The resurrection of the Prunelard

Prunelard is first established by history because it is probably the oldest grape variety in the Gaillac vineyard. XVI archivese century already testify to its presence on the land. They describe it as a qualitative grape that occupied a place of honor in Renaissance wines. Unfortunately, the phylloxera crisis that hit the Tarn in 1879 will eradicate it. It is therefore considered lost. But it was without counting on the resistance of very old vines which survived the terrible epidemic. It took the insight and attention of passionate winemakers to bring it back to life. Since then, the surfaces of Prunelard have gradually increased in the Gaillac vineyard where it is a point of honor to first promote indigenous grape varieties. Wisely, moreover, because from this grape which owes its name to the wax which covers its berries like a plum, a very good wine has been produced for centuries.

Prunelart by Clément Termes

At Clement Terms, the Prunelard has a t final to become Prunelart. So the d that came forward with roundness turn into a final that is quite a Article. And this is surely what we expect from a wine made from a historic grape variety of the land: that it is expressed with art. Thus, the Prunelart of Clement Terms is first presented as a single bottle, a bottle called "Paris" whose timeless silhouette is placed between modernity and tradition. Then it is revealed in color, revealing in the glass a garnet and purple robe, with a beautiful shine and attractively capturing the reflections. On the nose, a floral counterpoint is added to the typical bouquets of red fruits, plums and spices, borrowing from violet. On the palate, a silky roundness opens up, with a pleasant balance titillated by discreet tannins. With Prunelart from Clement Terms, we can see the emergence of a perfectly logical expression for a domain that is both part of the most authentic tradition possible and that strives to extract the fruits of renewal from its vineyard.

learn more Gaillac wine estates

French FR English EN

Le Prunelart de Clément Termes

Le Prunelart par Clément Termes – (l’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé)

Vins de GaillacL’intérêt d’un vin produit en monocépage prend de l’ampleur dès lors qu’il s’ouvre sur une révélation. C’est le cas d’une nouvelle cuvée signée Clément Termes qui ressuscite un cépage typique du vignoble de Gaillac que l’on crut longtemps disparu : le Prunelard.


La résurrection du Prunelard

Le Prunelard s’impose d’abord par l’histoire car il est probablement le plus ancien cépage du vignoble de Gaillac. Les archives du XVIe siècle témoignent déjà de sa présence sur le terroir. Elles le décrivent comme un cépage qualitatif qui occupait une place d’honneur dans les vins de la Renaissance. Malheureusement, la crise du phylloxera qui s’abat sur le Tarn en 1879 va l’éradiquer. On le considère dès lors perdu. Mais c’était sans compter sur la résistance de très vieilles vignes qui survécurent à la terrible épidémie. Il a fallu la perspicacité et l’attention de vignerons passionnés pour le ressusciter. Depuis, les surfaces de Prunelard croissent progressivement dans le vignoble de Gaillac où l’on met un point d’honneur à valoriser d’abord les cépages autochtones. À bon escient par ailleurs, car de ce raisin qui doit son nom à la cire qui recouvre ses baies à la manière d’une prune, on a tiré durant des siècles un très bon vin.

Le Prunelart de Clément Termes

Chez Clément Termes, le Prunelard se dote d’un t final pour devenir Prunelart. Ainsi, le d qui s’avançait avec rondeur se transforme-t-il en une finale qui est tout un art. Et c’est sûrement ce que l’on attend d’un vin issu d’un cépage historique du terroir : qu’il s’y exprime avec art. Ainsi, le Prunelart de Clément Termes se donne d’abord comme un flacon unique, une bouteille nommée « Paris » dont la silhouette intemporelle se place entre modernité et tradition. Puis il se dévoile en couleur, révélant dans le verre une robe en grenat et violine, d’une belle brillance et captant joliment les reflets. Au nez se rajoute aux bouquets typiques de fruits rouges, de prune et d’épices un contrepoint floral qui emprunte à la violette. En bouche s’ouvre une rondeur soyeuse, d’un équilibre plaisant titillé par de discrets tanins. Avec le Prunelart de Clément Termes, on voit poindre une expression parfaitement logique pour un domaine à la fois inscrit dans une tradition la plus authentique possible et qui s’applique à extraire de son vignoble les fruits d’un renouveau.

en savoir + Château Clément Termes sur Vignobles d’Occitanie