Domaine Le Roc

Wines of FrontonVineyards and discoveries


On the vineyard of Fronton, the Domaine Le Roc enjoys a good reputation for its wines of character signed by the whole Ribes family. Labeled "Vignobles et Découvertes", committed to organic conversion, the estate is also distinguished by its generous hospitality.


A historic terroir

Le Domaine Le Roc is established on the traditional lands of the wines of Fronton and Villaudric. Frédéric Ribes, winemaker keen on history, cultivates the memory. It applies to remember that in medieval times the vine was planted there in crowds, an arrangement that favored genetic crossings. Driven by their sagacity, the winegrowers learned to select the most suitable vines for this gravelly boulbènes soil. It is this work of man observing nature that engendered Négrette that we also call Mad Black Woman, the endemic grape of vineyard Fronton. This was used for a long time to produce wines for export. The waterways of the Tarn and the Garonne then facilitated their transport to Bordeaux. The vineyard was upset in 1956 when a terrible frost decimated it. The use of hybrid plants made it possible to restore quantitative production. But the notoriety of the wines of Fronton and Villaudric paled for a long time.

Restore the Négrette

The AOC acquired in 1975, the challenge of the vineyard of Fronton was to restore the notoriety of its wines. We began by replanting the vines to give back to the Négrette his favorite territory. This rustic and well-adapted grape variety is today at the heart of the production of Domaine Le Roc. The entire Ribes family, including the young generation, is committed to vinifying it. We don't call ourselves Le Roc by chance and the wine produced by the family estate expresses its character. The cellar itself speaks volumes. In this building surrounded by thick walls, on a semi-buried ground, vats, barrels and casks are deployed in tight rows. At the back, under the high vault, the local cold meats are displayed on racks. The staging is no accident: when Frédéric Ribes talks about wines from Domaine Le Roc, he always insists on the dishes with which they would know how to marry.

A strong character

In the Ribes family there is a creed: “ Southwestern wines are accomplished when tasted with a meal ". So the appetizer begins with two cuvées signed by the young generation of Anne Ribes and her cousin Grégoire: a fruity red named The Little Pebbles and the pretty rosé Ninette. Comes next la Folle Noire d'Ambat, a 100% Négrette where the typical aromas of violets and liquorice are supported by a slightly tannic structure. The recommendation for this one is to nibble on local cold meats. With the cuvée Le Classique, where the Négrette combines in matter and tension with the Syrah and a hint of Cabernet, we would rather call for white meat dishes. Red meat lovers will find a more robust ally in the cuvée Roc. In this wine the Négrette makes a solid and fair marriage with the Syrah and the Cabernet Sauvignon, the whole wrapped in a balanced woody acquired by two years of aging in barrels. As for the flagship of the estate, it is heroic by borrowing the epic name of Don Quixote. This flagship cuvée, complex in aromas, brings together all the virtues of Négrette and Syrah, which punching down and aging in eighteen-month tuns will have pushed to their most solid expression.

The wines of Fronton

The vineyard of Fronton derives its specificity
of an indigenous grape variety: Négrette

French FR English EN

Domaine Le Roc

Vins de FrontonVignobles et découvertes


Sur le vignoble de Fronton, le Domaine Le Roc jouit d’une belle réputation pour ses vins de caractère signés par toute la famille Ribes. Labellisé « Vignobles et Découvertes », engagé en conversion bio, le domaine se distingue également par sa généreuse hospitalité.


Un terroir historique

Le Domaine Le Roc est établi sur les terres traditionnelles des vins de Fronton et de Villaudric. Frédéric Ribes, vigneron féru d’histoire, en cultive la mémoire. Il s’applique à rappeler qu’à l’époque médiévale la vigne y était plantée en foule, agencement qui favorisait les croisements génétiques. Poussés par leur sagacité, les vignerons apprirent à sélectionner les ceps les plus adaptés à ce sol de boulbènes graveleuses. C’est ce travail de l’homme observant la nature qui engendra la Négrette que l’on appelle aussi Folle Noire, le cépage endémique du vignoble de Fronton. Celle-ci fut longtemps exploitée pour produire des vins destinés à l’exportation. Les voies fluviales du Tarn et de la Garonne en facilitaient alors l’acheminement vers Bordeaux. Le vignoble fut bouleversé en 1956 lorsqu’une terrible gelée le décima. Le recours aux plants hybrides permit de restaurer une production quantitative. Mais la notoriété des vins de Fronton et Villaudric en pâlit durablement.

Restaurer la Négrette

L’AOC acquise en 1975, l’enjeu du vignoble de Fronton fut de restaurer la notoriété de ses vins. On commença par replanter la vigne pour rendre à la Négrette son territoire de prédilection. Ce cépage rustique et bien adapté est aujourd’hui au cœur de la production du Domaine Le Roc. Toute la famille Ribes, jeune génération comprise, s’attache à la vinifier. On ne s’appelle pas Le Roc par hasard et le vin produit par le domaine familial en exprime le caractère. Le chai lui-même en dit la force. Dans ce bâtiment ceinturé de murs épais, sur un sol semi enterré, cuves, barriques et foudres se déploient en rang serrés. Tout au fond, sous la haute voute, les charcuteries locales s’exposent sur des râteliers. La mise en scène n’est pas de hasard : lorsque Frédéric Ribes parle des vins du Domaine Le Roc, il insiste toujours sur les mets avec lesquels ils sauraient se marier.

Un solide caractère

Dans la famille Ribes il est un credo : « Les vins du Sud-ouest sont accomplis quand on les déguste au cours d’un repas ». Alors la mise en bouche commence avec deux cuvées signées par la jeune génération de Anne et son cousin Grégoire : un rouge fruité nommé Les Petits Cailloux et le joli rosé Ninette. Vient ensuite la Folle Noire d’Ambat, un 100 % Négrette où les arômes typiques de violette et réglisse se soutiennent d’une structure légèrement tannique. La recommandation pour celle-ci est au grignotage des charcuteries de pays. Avec la cuvée Le Classique, où la Négrette s’allie en matière et tension avec la Syrah et une pointe de Cabernet, on en appellerait plutôt aux plats de viandes blanches. Les amateurs de viande rouge trouveront un allié plus charpenté dans la cuvée Le Roc. Dans ce vin la Négrette fait un mariage solide et équitable avec la Syrah et le Cabernet Sauvignon, l’ensemble enveloppé dans un équilibré boisé acquit par deux ans d’élevage en barrique. Quant au fleuron du domaine, il se veut héroïque en empruntant le nom épique de Don Quichotte. Cette cuvée phare, complexe en arômes, convoque toutes les vertus de la Négrette et de la Syrah, que pigeage et élevage en foudre de dix-huit mois auront poussé à leur plus solide expression.

http://www.leroc-fronton.com/


Domaine Le Roclocaliser Situer sur la carte
1605C Route de Toulouse
31620 Fronton

telephone 05 61 82 93 90