The dry whites of Château Lastours

Claire de Lune - Château Lastours - Gaillac wines
Claire de Lune - Château Lastours

Gaillac wines

Whether they are still wines or sparkling wines, white wines hold a notorious place in the Gaillac appellation. They are distinguished by one main specificity: they are made from the majority indigenous grape varieties. Among these we can count the Duras, the Loin de l'Œil and the Mauzac. The dry whites of Château Lastours are told in two cuvées: Gravels et Moon Glow.


Gravels

Dominated by a Loin de l'Œil allied with Sauvignon and Sémillon, subtly accented with Muscadelle and Mauzac, the cuvée Gravels is the great classic of the dry whites of Château Lastours. The expression of freshness is negotiated with the alliance of fruity tannins. The search for an intact fruit, the concern to respect the temperatures, require the recourse to the night harvest of September. Because at that time, in the Gaillac vineyards, the temperature differences between day and night manifest themselves in great amplitudes. At Château Lastours, natural freshness is favored, which limits oxidation. From this gain in quality, a complex blend wine is built where the floral aromas compete with those of the fruity. A slightly sub-ripe harvest brings lemony notes to the roundness, accentuating an attack on the palate relayed by subtle tannins and a mineral finish.

Moon Glow

With Moon Glow Another story promises to be that of a tribute paid by his son, Louis de Faramond, to his mother, Claire de Faramond. It is therefore a wine of character, whose story also makes it a wine for initiates. Made from 100% Mauzac, one of the most typical grape varieties of the Gaillac appellation, it also turns out to be the wine most imbued with Burgundian influences. No coincidence in this if we know that Adrien Hudeley, the winemaker of the house and a fellow man in front of the eternal, is a child of Burgundy. Harvested in moonlight, from carefully selected musts, built on a double fermentation in barrels, the cuvée Moon Glow achieves its objective: that of being the wine of temperament in the house. Between fat and structure, a fruit with retained bursts serving a buttery effect, this white wine reveals a unique and distinguished character among the entire range of Château Lastours wines.

learn more Château Lastours on Vineyards of Occitanie

French FR English EN

Les blancs secs de Château Lastours

Claire de Lune - Château Lastours - Vins de Gaillac
Claire de Lune – Château Lastours

Qu’ils soient vins tranquilles ou vins effervescents, les vins blancs tiennent une place notoire dans l’appellation Gaillac. Ils s’y distinguent par une principale spécificité : ils s’élaborent à partir de cépages autochtones majoritaires. Parmi ceux-là on comptera le Duras, le Loin de l’Œil ou encore le Mauzac. Les blancs secs de Château Lastours se racontent en deux cuvées : Les Graviers et Claire de Lune.


Les Graviers

Dominée par un Loin de l’Œil allié avec Sauvignon et Sémillon, subtilement accentuée de Muscadelle et Mauzac, la cuvée Les Graviers est le grand classique des blancs secs de Château Lastours. L’expression de la fraîcheur s’y négocie avec l’alliance de tanins fruités. La recherche d’un fruit intact, la préoccupation du respect des températures, exigent le recours aux vendanges nocturnes de septembre. Car à cette époque, dans le vignoble de Gaillac, les écarts de températures entre jour et nuit se manifestent dans de fortes amplitudes. À Château Lastours on privilégie la fraîcheur naturelle qui limite l’oxydation. De ce gain de qualité se construit un vin d’assemblage complexe où les arômes floraux le disputent à ceux du fruité. Une récolte en légère sous-maturité vient nouer sur la rondeur des notes citronnées, accentuant une attaque en bouche relayée par de subtils tanins et une finale minérale.

Claire de Lune

Avec Claire de Lune s’annonce une autre histoire qui est d’abord celle d’un hommage rendu par son fils, Louis de Faramond, à sa mère, Claire de Faramond. Il s’agit donc d’un vin de caractère, dont le récit en fait aussi un vin d’initiés. Élaboré en 100% Mauzac, l’un des plus typiques cépages de l’appellation Gaillac, il se révèle être aussi le vin le plus imprégné d’influences bourguignonnes. Point de hasard en cela si l’on sait qu’Adrien Hudeley, l’œnologue de la maison et gaillard devant l’éternel, est un enfant de Bourgogne. Vendangée au clair de lune, issue des moûts sélectionnés avec exigence, construite sur une double fermentation en fût, la cuvée Claire de Lune atteint son objectif : celui d’être le vin de tempérament dans la maison. Entre gras et structure, d’un fruit aux éclats retenus servant un effet beurré, ce vin blanc se révèle d’un caractère unique et distingué parmi toute la gamme des vins de Château Lastours.

en savoir + Château Lastours sur Vignobles d’Occitanie