Domaine Rose & Paul

Malepère winespays-d-oc-55px


Le Domaine Rose & Paul, established on thePDO Malepère, is a family wine heritage rich in know-how transmitted and enriched over six generations of winegrowers and winegrowers.


A family from La Malepère

Le Domaine Rose & Paul is established on the land of the Malepere in Arzens. In this small village surrounded by circulade all around the central church, the family home dates from 1750. From that time were inherited six hectares of vines from which the current wine estate has grown. Maintained and developed over generations, the estate now covers nearly a hundred hectares. The oldest vines, where there are Grenache, Merlot and Chardonnay, testify to the constancy granted to the terroir. The domain name itself perpetuates the memory of the great-grandparents, Rose and Paul. It is in the path traced by them that Gerard Foussat, their son, had undertaken to enrich the grape varieties under the impetus of the cooperative development. In the following generation, the management of the estate, which had become independent, fell to Gilles Foussat, who currently holds the presidency of the Malepère union. He is assisted by the latest generation of his children: Clement Foussat who watches over the vines and Camille Foussat who ensures commercial coordination.

A wine region of interest

Le Domaine Rose & Paul alone embodies a piece of viticulture history in Malepère. It holds part of its memory and contributes to the gradual growth of this young Languedoc appellation, which was recognized in 2007. Sculpted by the folds of the Pyrenean foothills, thePDO Malepère is divided into four terroirs. The one on which the vineyard of the Domaine Rose & Paul and the land of Carcassonne. The vines are rooted there on old terraces whose horizon to the north is cut by the Montagne Noire, while to the south it borders the neighboring terroir of Limoux. At the crossroads of Mediterranean and oceanic influences, enjoying in Arzens an altitude maintaining a suitable freshness, the vineyard offers remarkable conditions for producing wines of great interest. These take advantage of a grape variety adapted to the dual oceanic and Mediterranean influence. Thus, for the red grape varieties, Merlot, Cabernets and Malbec cohabit with Grenaches. For white grape varieties, Chardonnay reigns supreme.

Plot and mono-varietal

A distinctive feature of Domaine Rose & Paul is its attachment to parcel vinification. Because the terroir of La Malepère, all in relief modeled on the commune of Arzens, is conducive to communicating geological singularities to the vine. Thus, certain cuvées base their personalities on the imprint that the terroir instills in the expression of the grape varieties. The toponymy of the plots itself announces the potential for nuances: The Viala, Saint Marcel, Curds, Roudel, etc The expressive palettes they induce are particularly valued in the estate's signature cuvées. In red wine, on a blend of typical Malepère grape varieties, it is the Roudel which gives its name to a cuvée aged 6 months in oak barrels and which combines Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Grenache. In white wine, outside the Malepère appellation, it is the Viala which gives its name to a 100% Chardonnay cuvée, a grape variety which finds here a beautiful expressive amplitude on a south-facing sandstone and limestone hillside. Faithful to the literal valuation of the terroir, the Domaine Rose & Paul is also committed to the vinification of a red wine and a rosé wine labeled with ease AOC Malepere. They stand side by side in the window with a few single-varietal cuvées taking advantage of the great potential of this terroir articulated between two climates: in red wine, a 100% Malbec ; in white wine 100% Chardonnay. Finally, in terms of the vernacular appellations of Languedoc, a rosé wine stands out in Coasts of Prouilhe, vinified in 100% Cabernet Sauvignon.

Domaine Rose & Paul

142, Chemin de la Malepère
11290 Arzens

phone 06 03 92 91 11

French FR English EN

Domaine Rose & Paul

Vins de Malepèrepays-d-oc-55px


Le Domaine Rose & Paul, établi sur l’AOP Malepère, est un patrimoine viticole familial riche d’un savoir-faire transmis et enrichi au fil de six générations de vigneronnes et vignerons.


Une famille de la Malepère

Le Domaine Rose & Paul est établi sur le terroir de la Malepère à Arzens. Dans ce petit village enserré en circulade tout autour de l’église centrale, la maison familiale est datée de 1750. De l’époque furent hérités six hectares de vignes à partir desquelles s’est étendu le domaine viticole actuel. Entretenu et développé au fil des générations, le domaine compte aujourd’hui près d’une centaine d’hectares. Les plus vieilles vignes où se dénombrent Grenache, Merlot et Chardonnay, témoignent de la constance accordée au terroir. Le nom du domaine lui-même perpétue la mémoire des arrière-grands-parents, Rose et Paul. C’est dans la voie tracée par eux que Gérard Foussat, leur fils, avait entrepris d’enrichir l’encépagement sous l’impulsion de l’essor coopératif. En génération suivante, la gestion du domaine devenu indépendant a échu à Gilles Foussat, qui assure actuellement la présidence du syndicat de la Malepère. Il est secondé par la toute dernière génération de ses enfants : Clément Foussat qui veille sur les vignes et Camille Foussat qui assure la coordination commerciale.

Un terroir viticole d’intérêt

Le Domaine Rose & Paul incarne à lui seul un morceau d’histoire de la viticulture en Malepère. Il en détient une partie de la mémoire et contribue à l’essor progressif de cette jeune appellation du Languedoc, dont la reconnaissance date de 2007. Sculptée par les plissements du piémont pyrénéen, l’AOP Malepère se découpe en quatre terroirs. Celui sur lequel est établi le vignoble du Domaine Rose & Paul est le terroir de Carcassonne. Les vignes s’y enracinent sur de vieilles terrasses dont l’horizon au nord est découpé par la montagne Noire, tandis qu’au sud il vient border le terroir voisin de Limoux. À la charnière des influences méditerranéenne et océaniques, jouissant à Arzens d’une altitude entretenant une opportune fraîcheur, le vignoble offre des conditions remarquables pour engendrer des vins de grand intérêt. Ceux-ci tirent parti d’un encépagement adapté à la double influence océanique et méditerranéenne. Ainsi, pour les cépages rouges, Merlot, Cabernets et Malbec cohabitent avec les Grenaches. Pour les cépages blancs, le Chardonnay règne en maître.

Parcellaire et mono-cépage

Un trait distinctif du Domaine Rose & Paul est son attachement aux vinifications parcellaires. Car le terroir de la Malepère, tout en reliefs modelés sur la commune d’Arzens, est propice à communiquer à la vigne des singularités géologiques. Ainsi, certaines cuvées assoient leurs personnalités sur l’empreinte que le terroir instille dans l’expression des cépages. La toponymie des parcelles annonce elle-même le potentiel de nuances : Le Viala, Saint Marcel, Les Caillages, Roudel, etc. Les palettes expressives qu’elles induisent sont particulièrement valorisées dans le cuvées signatures du domaine. En vin rouge, sur un assemblage de cépages typiques de la Malepère, c’est le Roudel qui donne son nom à une cuvée élevée 6 mois en fûts de chêne et qui marie Merlot, Cabernet franc et Grenache. En vin blanc, hors appellation Malepère, c’est le Viala qui confère son nom à une cuvée 100% Chardonnay, cépage qui trouve ici une belle amplitude expressive sur un coteau en grès et calcaire exposé plein sud. Fidèle à la valorisation littérale du terroir, le Domaine Rose & Paul s’attache également à la vinification d’un vin rouge et d’un vin rosé étiquetés en toute simplicité AOC Malepère. Ils voisinent en vitrine avec quelques cuvées mono-cépage tirant parti du beau potentiel de ce terroir articulé entre deux climats : en vin rouge, un 100% Malbec ; en vin blanc un 100% Chardonnay. Sur le plan des appellations vernaculaires du Languedoc se distingue enfin un vin rosé en Côtes de Prouilhe, vinifié en 100% Cabernet Sauvignon.

Domaine Rose & Paul

142, Chemin de la Malepère
11290 Arzens

telephone 06 03 92 91 11

French FR English EN