Jérôme Bézios vineyards

Gaillac winesTerra Vitis logoHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Located in the historic heart of the AOP Gaillac, the Jérôme Bézios vineyards produce an exclusive range of Gaillac wines based on the characteristics of two terroirs: Merchant's Cross et Palvié Castle.


In the center of the ancient vineyard

The Jérôme Bézios vineyards are located in Montans, in the Tarn. The location is not trivial because the village renowned for its Archaeosite was home to the production of wine amphorae atGallo-Roman period. It is thus established from the outset that the wine estate is in the historic heart of Gaillac vineyard. But here, the great story joins a family story that has been transmitted and consolidated over several generations. The attachment to the terroir, the requirement applied to its expression, the primacy given to local grape varieties have forged its spirit since the 1930s. Bézios family, the activity was originally based on mixed farming before Jean-Marie, the father, returned all the land to the vineyard in the 1970s. Today, 60 hectares of vineyard supply the cellars. at harvest time. They are distributed between the domain The Merchants' Cross et Palvié Castle, the whole forming the Jérôme Bézios vineyards.

One vineyard, two terroirs

The year 1983 marks the bottling of the estate's first vintage. The Merchants' Cross under the label Tradition red. A few years later, in 1998, Jerome Bézios, the son, joins the family domain. The property grew from then on by the annexation of the vineyards of Palvié Castle located in Cahuzac-sur-Vère. Benefiting from two typical terroirs ofGaillac appellation, Jérôme Bézios vineyards enjoy a rich potential of expressions focused on the exclusive production of Gaillac wines. The vintages made from predominantly local grape varieties derive their expressive nuances from the gravel or limestone plateaus which respectively qualify each of the two sites. In contact with each soil, the expressive nuances of the grape varieties are forged: Mauzac and Len-de-Lel for the whites; Braucol, Duras, Prunelard and Syrah for the reds. Thus, the singularity of Jérôme Bézios vineyards is based on their ability to offer one of the ranges of Gaillac wines among the most complete and demonstrative of the appellation.

The Merchants' Cross

The Domain The Merchants' Cross extends over approximately 30 hectares of vines which surround the family property established in Montans. Gravel soils, deposited by the Tarn in geological times, are found there in the majority. Their substrate is typical of the gravelly terraces which dominate the left bank of theAOP Gaillac. The wines draw a profile from it where fruits and spices strive to find a harmonious balance. Revealing all the expressive occurrences authorized by the appellation, they are available in red wines, rosé wine, dry or pearl white wines but also sweet wine. Without forgetting the ancestral method because Gaillac is also a land where it is perpetuated, as in Limoux, the tradition of sparkling wines. Between the vintages Tradition, Elegance et Old vines, red wines stand out as the estate's first ambassadors The Merchants' Cross. The trio is completed by all the other colors to offer a full expression of this historic terroir whose reputation was acquired by its variation in seven wines.

Palvié Castle

Palvié Castle, more recently annexed to the domain The Merchants' Cross, brings into the fold of Jérôme Bézios vineyards another typical terroir ofGaillac appellation. This time reaching the right bank of the Tarn, the vineyard flourishes on the clay-limestone slopes of Cahuzac-sur-Vère. The cultivation method is also distinguished there since the vines spread over about twenty hectares are worked there in goblets. From the ground and from the singular size are born Gaillac wines with denser and more complex profiles. It's from Palvié Castle that come from the wines of the domain offering the longest aging potential. The range focuses fully on a variation of red wines, such as Intimate ou The secrets that mainly structure Syrah and Braucol. Range The secrets, so aptly named, is also distinguished by a syrupy white from late harvest. The expressive amplitude of the terroir would be incomplete without the two eponymous cuvées Palvié Castle, with a red wine structured by Syrah, Braucol and Prunelard, as well as a dry white wine, born from a 100% Mauzac aged in casks.

Jérôme Bézios vineyards

53 Way of the Cross of the Merchants
81600 Mountains

phone 05 63 57 60 14

French FR English EN

Vignobles Jérôme Bézios

Vins de Gaillaclogo Terra VitisHaute Valeur Environnementale


Situés au cœur historique de l’AOP Gaillac, les Vignobles Jérôme Bézios produisent une gamme exclusive de vins de Gaillac assise sur les typicités de deux terroirs : Croix des Marchands et Château Palvié.


Au centre du vignoble antique

Les Vignobles Jérôme Bézios sont situés à Montans, dans le Tarn. L’implantation n’est pas anodine car le village renommé pour son Archéosite fût le foyer de la production d’amphores viniques à l’époque gallo-romaine. Il s’établit ainsi d’entrée que le domaine viticole se trouve au cœur historique du vignoble de Gaillac. Mais ici, la grande histoire rejoint une histoire de famille qui s’est transmise et consolidée au fil de plusieurs générations. L’attachement au terroir, l’exigence appliquée à son expression, la primauté donnée aux cépages locaux en ont forgé l’esprit depuis les années 1930. Dans la famille Bézios, l’activité reposait à l’origine sur la polyculture avant que Jean-Marie, le père, ne rende l’ensemble des terres à la vigne dans les années 1970. Ce sont aujourd’hui 60 hectares de vignoble qui viennent approvisionner les chais au temps des vendanges. Ils se distribuent entre le domaine La Croix des Marchands et Château Palvié, l’ensemble formant les Vignobles Jérôme Bézios.

Un vignoble, deux terroirs

L’année 1983 marque la mise en bouteille du premier millésime du domaine La Croix des Marchands sous l’étiquette Rouge tradition. Quelques années plus tard, en 1998, Jérôme Bézios, le fils, rallie le domaine familial. La propriété s’agrandit dès lors par l’annexion des vignobles de Château Palvié situé à Cahuzac-sur-Vère. Tirant bénéfice de deux terroirs typiques de l’appellation Gaillac, les Vignobles Jérôme Bézios jouissent d’un riche potentiel d’expressions concentré sur la production exclusive de vins de Gaillac. Les cuvées issues de cépages locaux majoritaires tirent leurs nuances expressives des graves ou des plateaux calcaires qui qualifient respectivement chacun des deux sites. Au contact de chaque sol se forgent les nuances expressives des cépages : Mauzac et Len-de-Lel pour les blancs ; Braucol, Duras, Prunelard et Syrah pour les rouges. Ainsi, la singularité des Vignobles Jérôme Bézios repose sur leur capacité à offrir l’une des gammes de vins de Gaillac parmi les plus complètes et les plus démonstratives de l’appellation.

La Croix des Marchands

Le domaine La Croix des Marchands s’étend sur environ 30 hectares de vignes qui enserrent la propriété familiale établie à Montans. Les sols de graves, déposés par le Tarn aux temps géologiques, s’y trouvent majoritaires. Leur substrat est typique des terrasses graveleuses qui dominent la rive gauche de l’AOP Gaillac. Les vins y puisent un profil où fruits et épices s’appliquent à trouver un harmonieux équilibre. Révélant toutes les occurrences expressives qu’autorise l’appellation, ils se déclinent en vins rouges, vin rosé, vins blancs sec ou perlé mais aussi vin doux. Sans oublier la méthode ancestrale car Gaillac est aussi un terroir où se perpétue, comme à Limoux, la tradition des vins effervescents. Entre les cuvées Tradition, Élégance et Vieilles Vignes, les vins rouges s’imposent comme premiers ambassadeurs du domaine La Croix des Marchands. Le trio est complété par l’ensemble des autres couleurs pour offrir une pleine expression de ce terroir historique dont la réputation fut acquise par sa déclinaison en sept vins.

Château Palvié

Château Palvié, plus récemment annexé au domaine La Croix des Marchands, amène dans le giron des Vignobles Jérôme Bézios un autre terroir typique de l’appellation Gaillac. Gagnant cette fois-ci la rive droite du Tarn, le vignoble s’épanouit sur les coteaux argilo-calcaires de Cahuzac-sur-Vère. La méthode culturale s’y distingue également puisque les vignes réparties sur une vingtaine d’hectares y sont travaillées en gobelets. Du sol et de la taille singulière naissent des vins de Gaillac aux profils plus denses et plus complexes. C’est de Château Palvié que proviennent les vins du domaine offrant la plus longue garde. La gamme se concentre pleinement sur une variation de vins rouges, comme Intime ou Les Secrets que structurent principalement la Syrah et le Braucol. La gamme Les Secrets, si bien nommée, se distingue également par un blanc liquoreux issu de vendanges tardives. L’amplitude expressive du terroir serait incomplète sans les deux cuvées éponymes Château Palvié, avec un vin rouge que structurent Syrah, Braucol et Prunelard, ainsi qu’un vin blanc sec, né d’un 100% Mauzac élevé en foudre.

Vignobles Jérôme Bézios

53 Chemin de la Croix des Marchands
81600 Montans

telephone 05 63 57 60 14

French FR English EN