Domaine Gayrard

Gaillac winesCôtes du Tarn wines


Very close to Cordes-sur-Ciel, at the northern limit of Gaillac vineyard, Domaine Gayrard is undergoing a renaissance. Enjoying a terroir very favorable to vines as well as truffle oaks, engaged in organic conversion, this wine stronghold could soon be one of the references of the appellation.


The story

Between Cordes and Albi, the Domaine Gayrard occupies a land with a long wine-growing tradition. Family archives show that vines were already cultivated there in the XNUMXth century.e century. If we know that Gaillac is one of the oldest vineyards in France, we can assume that the lands of Domaine Gayrard were conducive to the cultivation of native grape varieties that the entire appellation is now trying to rehabilitate. And although the story of the XXe century dominated by economic reason marked an interruption the wine tradition of the fief Gayrard, it was without taking into account the spirit of renewal which today runs through the whole vineyard. The family farm is once again among those which endeavor to reconnect with the reputation of Gaillac wines. And as love and respect for ancestral land occupy the memory here, it is in organic conversion that the business is conducted.

The Renaissance

Before wine production fell dormant for a generation, the Domaine Gayrard was a pioneer in the production of bottles in the 50s. This memory is the cradle of a renaissance to which the new generation formed today is applied. Laure and Pierre Fabre. Young couple of winegrowers, they have devoted themselves since 2013 to reviving the richness of a history which gave here a regal place to the vines. Little by little, the estate is enriched with new plantings after having annexed a few plots of old vines which reinforce the very good potential of the historic terroir. Because this limestone substrate of the Cordes plateau has always given the grapes a mineral force conducive to the expression of excellent Gaillac wines. And nec plus ultra, the property which looks like a small hamlet dominating a very well maintained park also has oak and hazelnut trees at the foot of which truffles are popular.

The news

The visit to the cellar is obvious: pragmatism and method reign in the house. If the first vintages of Domaine Gayrard apply themselves to enhancing single-varietal vintages, it is clear that the combination of time will give rise to beautiful surprises. This is already pressing in the balance of the first wines whose vinification and aging have been perfectly conducted. Freshness of the fruit, enhancement of the grape variety, mastery of typicities form the guideline. So we like to taste a Sauvignon where bursts of citrus and white fruit are supported by a beautiful base of minerality. We fall for the bubbles of a Gamay rosé, ensuring the celebration of a day with this sparkling wine. We become attentive to a Braucol full of expression, which marks an authentic red wine from Gaillac. Always on red wines we let ourselves melt in a Syrah that the terroir and the maturation have fixed between fruits and spices well established on rounded tannins by the aging in barrels. We like to discover a Far from the eye, a dry white wine typical of the Gaillac region, whose golden color with a bouquet of white flowers and undergrowth makes a nod to the scents of neighboring truffles.

learn more The wines of Gaillac

French FR English EN

Domaine Gayrard


Tout proche de Cordes-sur-Ciel, en limite nord du vignoble de Gaillac, le Domaine Gayrard est aujourd’hui en pleine renaissance. Jouissant d’un terroir très propice à la vigne comme aux chênes truffiers, engagé en conversion bio, ce fief viticole pourrait bientôt compter parmi les références de l’appellation.


L’histoire

Entre Cordes et Albi, le Domaine Gayrard occupe un terroir de longue tradition viticole. Les archives familiales font apparaître que la vigne y était déjà cultivée au XIIIe siècle. Si l’on sait que Gaillac compte parmi les plus vieux vignobles de France, on peut supposer que les terres du Domaine Gayrard furent propices à la culture des cépages autochtones que toute l’appellation s’applique aujourd’hui à réhabiliter. Et bien que l’histoire du XXe siècle dominée par la raison économique marqua d’une interruption la tradition viticole du fief Gayrard, c’était sans compter avec l’esprit de renouveau qui parcourt aujourd’hui tout le vignoble. L’exploitation familiale compte à nouveau parmi celles qui s’appliquent à renouer avec la renommée des vins de Gaillac. Et comme l’amour et le respect de la terre ancestrale occupent ici la mémoire, c’est en conversion bio que l’affaire est conduite.

La renaissance

Avant que la production de vins n’entrât en sommeil le temps d’une génération, le Domaine Gayrard fut pionnier de la production de bouteilles dans les années 50. Ce souvenir est le berceau d’une renaissance à laquelle s’applique la nouvelle génération que forment aujourd’hui Laure et Pierre Fabre. Jeune couple de vignerons, ils se consacrent depuis 2013 à ranimer la richesse d’une histoire qui conférait ici une place régalienne à la vigne. Petit à petit, le domaine s’enrichit de plantations nouvelles après avoir annexé quelques parcelles de vieilles vignes qui renforcent le très beau potentiel du terroir historique. Car ce substrat calcaire du plateau cordais a toujours conféré aux raisins une force minérale propice à l’expression d’excellents vins de Gaillac. Et nec plus ultra, la propriété qui se présente comme un petit hameau dominant un parc fort bien entretenu compte également chênes et noisetiers au pied desquels se plaisent les truffes.

L’actualité

La visite du chai pousse à l’évidence : le pragmatisme et la méthode règnent dans la maison. Si les premiers millésimes du Domaine Gayrard s’appliquent à valoriser des cuvées monocépage, il est clair que l’alliance du temps ne va pas tarder à faire naître de belles surprises. Cela se pressent déjà dans l’équilibre des premiers vins dont la vinification et l’élevage ont été parfaitement conduits. Fraîcheur du fruit, valorisation du cépage, maîtrise des typicités forment la ligne directrice. Alors on se plait à déguster un Sauvignon où les éclats d’agrumes et de fruits blancs s’appuient sur un beau socle de minéralité. On craque pour les bulles d’un Gamay rosé, assurant la fête d’une journée. On devient attentif devant un Braucol de pleine expression, qui vient signer un Gaillac authentique. On se laisse fondre dans une Syrah que le terroir et la maturation ont fixé entre des fruits et des épices bien assis sur des tanins arrondis par l’élevage en fûts. On se plait à découvrir un Loin de l’Œil, un blanc sec typique du terroir gaillacois, dont la robe dorée au bouquet de fleurs blanches et sous-bois fait un clin d’œil aux parfums des truffes voisines.

Bienvenue a la fermeAdhérents au réseau « Bienvenue à la ferme » le Domaine Gayrard propose accueil et vente directe à la propriété !
Laure et Pierre Fabre – Domaine Gayrard – Vignoble de Gaillac

YouTube
Les interviews de Laure Fabre et Pierre Fabre sur YouTube

https://www.maison-gayrard.com/


Domaine Gayrardlocaliser Situer sur la carte
81130 Milhavet

telephone 06 12 09 01 34