Mas du Soleilla

The following article predates fall 2018. Since that date, the Mas du Soleilla has changed owners. Acquired by the vineyards Gérard Bertrand, it is now attached to the wine and wine tourism complex of Chateau l'Hospitalet.

Wines of La ClapeOrganic wines


Certified organic since 2012, the Mas du Soleilla is an exemplary domain of remarkable wines that the La Clape vineyard is capable of generating.


The signature of the terroir

Originally from Switzerland, it was in 1998 that peter wildbolz et Christa derungs are established on the La Clape massif. Taking charge of the fate of Mas du Soleilla, they make the judicious choice to start an organic conversion early. Initially acquired with 7 hectares of vines, the estate now has 22 hectares. On this geological site which was first an island in ancient times, the vineyard thrives today on a limestone plateau. Located at an altitude of 130m above the level of the adjoining sea, it is not uncommon for a few oyster or ammonite fossils to emerge between the rows of vines. And when peter wildbolz tells you that when you buy a domain, you also buy a story, we understand that in these places the history is also that immemorial of a land that will be a signature in the wine.

The power of fruit

Au Mas du Soleilla, the culture of the vine is carried out with a subtle rigor where the apparent modesty of the winegrower hides a particularly expert technique. This starts with a detailed knowledge of the terroir and its climatic variations. The way to grass the vineyard, only until the end of the rainy season, is a first clue. Because later, the sea wind and the calcareous soils sometimes favor droughts which make it necessary to avoid root competition for the vines. The future elegance of the fruit, the strength of its juices, the concentration of its aromas depend on it. ATu Mas du Soleilla, this is how we carefully watch over the Grenache, Syrah, Cabernet franc or Merlot intended for red wines, without forgetting Roussanne ou bourboulen to the fate of white wines. The artisanal care given to the vines is also found in the conduct of the cellar. The shape of the vats, their sizing, the control over temperatures, all combine to give the terroir and its fruits some of the most interesting wines of the appellation.

The consistency of the wines

Au Mas du Soleilla there is a rule: to make wines that stand out from each other. This bias is reflected in the visual of the labels, the subtle color ranges of which clearly distinguish each cuvée. Thus present themselves The Ammonites, in orange ocher dressing, and whose garnet color revealed in the glass already reveals the velvety presence of blackberry or cherry, Grenache fruit combined with Syrah. Follow The Chailles, dressed in a dense purple which announces in suppleness and finesse the marriage of red fruits and spices, a signature dominated by the old Grenaches of the domain and always the Syrah. With The Bartelles, introduced by a carmine red visual and whose alias is that of small garrigue woods, woody and spicy accents complicate an already very fascinating picture. Then announces the Almond tree fence, whose vermilion label is the ambassador of slow barrel aging, giving accents of truffles and mokas to the fruits already so well expressed. Contrasting with the velvety and well coated tannins of the red wines, the white wine extracted from Bourboulenc and Roussane offers floral freshness and peach accents, under a bluish label which puts the final touch. From this set emerges a great visual coherence, which reflects the complex straightforwardness of the wines of the Mas du Soleilla, all intensely and virtuously expressive of terroir of La Clape.

learn more The Château l'Hospitalet
French FR English EN

Mas du Soleilla


Labellisé bio depuis 2012, le Mas du Soleilla est un acteur exemplaire des vins remarquables que le vignoble de La Clape est en capacité d’engendrer.


La signature du terroir

Originaires de Suisse, c’est en 1998 que Peter Wildbolz et Christa Derungs s’établissent sur le massif de La Clape. Prenant en charge le destin du Mas du Soleilla, ils font le choix judicieux d’engager précocement une conversion bio. Acquis initialement avec 7 hectares de vignes, le domaine en compte aujourd’hui 22 hectares. Sur ce site géologique qui fut d’abord une île à l’époque antique, le vignoble prospère aujourd’hui en plateau calcaire. Situé à 130m d’altitude au-dessus du niveau de la mer mitoyenne, il n’est pas rare qu’émergent entre les rangs de vignes quelques fossiles d’huîtres ou d’ammonites. Et quand Peter Wildbolz vous précise que lorsqu’on achète un domaine on achète aussi une histoire, on comprend qu’en ces lieux l’histoire est aussi celle immémoriale d’un terroir qui fera signature dans le vin.

La puissance du fruit

Au Mas du Soleilla, la culture de la vigne est conduite avec une rigueur subtile où l’apparente modestie du vigneron cache une technique de haut vol. Celle-ci passe en premier lieu par une fine connaissance du terroir et de ses écarts climatiques. La façon d’enherber le vignoble, uniquement jusqu’à la fin de la saison des pluies, en est un premier indice. Car plus tard, le vent et les sols calcaires favorisent parfois des sècheresses qui imposent d’éviter à la vigne une concurrence racinaire. L’élégance future du fruit, la force de ses jus, la concentration de ses arômes en dépendent. Au Mas du Soleilla, c’est ainsi que l’on veille avec soin sur le Grenache noir, la Syrah, le Cabernet franc ou le Merlot destinés aux rouges, sans oublier Roussane ou Bourboulenc au destin de blancs. Le soin artisanal apporté à la vigne se retrouve également dans la conduite au chai. La forme des cuves, leur dimensionnement, la maîtrise apportée aux températures, tout concourt à donner au terroir et à ses fruits des vins parmi les plus intéressants de l’appellation.

La cohérence des vins

Au Mas du Soleilla il est une règle : faire des vins qui se démarquent les uns des autres. Ce parti-pris se traduit dans le visuel des étiquettes dont les subtiles gammes de couleur distinguent clairement chaque cuvée. Ainsi se présentent Les Ammonites, en habillage ocre orangé, et dont la robe grenat dévoilée dans le verre dit déjà la présence veloutée de la mûre ou de la cerise, fruits du Grenache allié à la Syrah. Suivent Les Chailles, habillées d’un violet dense qui annonce en souplesse et finesse le mariage des fruits rouges et des épices, signature dominée par les vieux Grenaches du domaine et toujours la Syrah. Avec Les Bartelles, qu’introduit un visuel rouge carmin et dont le nom d’emprunt est celui des petits bois de garrigue, les accents boisés et épicés viennent complexifier un tableau déjà bien passionnant. S’annonce alors le Clôt de l’Amandier, dont l’étiquette poussée au vermillon se fait ambassadrice des lents élevages en fût, conférant accents de truffes et mokas aux fruits déjà si bien exprimés. Contrastant avec les veloutés et les tanins bien enrobés des cuvées rouges, le blanc extrait du Bourboulenc et de la Roussane offre fraîcheur florale et accents de pêche, sous une étiquette bleutée qui pose la touche finale. De cet ensemble se dégage une grande cohérence visuelle, qui traduit la droiture complexe des vins du Mas du Soleilla, tous intensément et vertueusement expressifs du terroir de La Clape.

en savoir + Les vins de La Clape


Mas du Soleillalocaliser Situer sur la carte
Route de Narbonne-Plage
11100 Narbonne

telephone 06 34 53 03 48‬